Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Backburner and RDP

  1. #1
    Design Visualization Moderator stusic's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-10
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Posts
    1,514
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Lightbulb Backburner and RDP

    I like being able to check on my render servers and make changes directly on the machine when needed. For this, I use Remote Desktop Connection.

    However, this posed a slight problem. Remote Desktop requires a username and password (easy enough), but when the server reboots, it would just sit there until I logged on (via RDP) before it would start the Backburner Server app (located in the Startup folder). I could run the Server as a Windows Service, but I like being able to see that the Server is up and running, not invisible in the background. Doing it this way makes troubleshooting much easier.

    To keep RDP working AND automatically log on to the correct account on boot, follow the steps located here. Be careful however, as this allows anyone, with physical access, to that server's files.

    HTH!
    Phillip Bradshaw
    Lead Pixel Pusher, Lucid Design Studio
    CAD Detailer, Proctor Productions

    A doctor can bury his mistakes but an architect can only advise his clients to plant vines. - Frank Lloyd Wright

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    2012-08
    Posts
    3
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Backburner and RDP

    What information can you get from windopws that the backburner interface window doesn't tell you? You can watch the progress of your slave machines in the window very closely.

  3. #3
    Design Visualization Moderator stusic's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-10
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Posts
    1,514
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Backburner and RDP

    Quote Originally Posted by bruce.jones View Post
    What information can you get from windopws that the backburner interface window doesn't tell you? You can watch the progress of your slave machines in the window very closely.
    Do you mean as opposed to the BB Web Monitor? There always seems to be something going wrong when I'm rendering; it's nice to be able to log on to the machine as if I'm there to troubleshoot.
    Phillip Bradshaw
    Lead Pixel Pusher, Lucid Design Studio
    CAD Detailer, Proctor Productions

    A doctor can bury his mistakes but an architect can only advise his clients to plant vines. - Frank Lloyd Wright

Similar Threads

  1. Revit & backburner
    By KGC in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2010-09-01, 10:42 PM
  2. Backburner Notifications
    By stusic in forum 3ds Max - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2010-03-04, 01:44 PM
  3. Backburner error
    By nkennelly in forum Backburner
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2010-02-13, 05:01 AM
  4. Backburner woes
    By kenwal in forum 3ds Max - General
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2009-10-30, 09:00 PM
  5. VIZ & Backburner
    By Steve_Bennett in forum VIZ - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2005-04-15, 06:10 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •