Thread: Should I learn RCA or ACA

Login to Give a bone

Default Should I learn RAC or ACA

Let me start by giving a little background about myself.

By trade, I am a network engineer and computer programmer and I have very little architectural design skills. I am capable of physically building small structures such as sheds, or room additions and miraculously keeping them within building codes (including NEC) but I've never drawn up a “real” design plan. I want to broaden my skill set to build larger items such as corporate data centers and unfortunately plans for those aren't usually visualized that well when they are in Visio format or on a cocktail napkin so I think it’s time to start learning an engineering package.

I have been using AutoCAD LT2009 for about 7 months and I am getting pretty comfortable drawing with it but I have come to a crossroad and would like someone to help point me in the right direction. I want to be able to draw concepts and not necessarily finalized - city approved plans. For instance, I would like to be able to draw a 150’ x 75’ pole barn that I can render to show what it would look like from the outside as well as the inside and I would like to be able to record walkthroughs that can give an animated impression of the finished design. I really like working on top down (iso plane top?) designs to draw up walls, floors and doors and that has been my primary focus within ACAD LT but I am coming to find that there are limitations in the LT version and it’s time to upgrade.

I have the trial version of both ACA and RAC but I can’t decide which one I should learn. I understand the Revit parametric concept but I don’t think I will ever be designing the apartment building of the future or a 60 story office complex so I don’t want to overkill all my drawings. On the flip side, I am not sure if ACA can do all things that RAC can such as walkthroughs and I don’t want to get started down the ACA path if it won’t work for me.