Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Drawing Ducts

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2008-09
    Posts
    29
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Drawing Ducts

    For the life of me I can't figure out how to add end caps to ductwork. Any suggestions? The duct calculator doesn't like the air blowing out the end of the duct.

    Also, when I connect diffusers to undefined ducts they want to connect to the bottom side. How do you make them connect to the side of the duct?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    2008-09
    Posts
    29
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Drawing Ducts

    Well I fell like an idiot. I found the end caps under fittings. Who would ever think to look there?

    Still need help on the diffuser connections though.

    Thanks

  3. #3
    I could stop if I wanted to stykface's Avatar
    Join Date
    2007-11
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    352
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Drawing Ducts

    Quote Originally Posted by jmw View Post
    For the life of me I can't figure out how to add end caps to ductwork. Any suggestions? The duct calculator doesn't like the air blowing out the end of the duct.

    Also, when I connect diffusers to undefined ducts they want to connect to the bottom side. How do you make them connect to the side of the duct?

    Thanks
    Hit "N" for Next to see other routing options before you finalize the connection.

    I usually draw round duct out to the diffuser first... then when EVERYTHING is in place, I go back and set all the flex. This is because flex duct doesn't dynamically update with elevation or routing changes, not that I have figured out anyways.
    Tannar Frampton | Dallas, TX | Engineering Department
    AutoCAD MEP 2012 / Revit MEP 2012 | CADTutor | The Swamp

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    2008-09
    Posts
    29
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Drawing Ducts

    Thanks for responding Tanner.

    The help file (User Manual p. 169) shows the Duct Fitting Properties Dialog with a Takeoff Position tab. My software doesn't show a "Takeoff Position" tab but instead shows an "Anchor" tab showing essentially the same information. It seems like this is to force the takeoff position to a certain position by default in all 3 axes. We need horizontal takeoffs fixed in the X and Y planes but rotating about the Z axis. There should be a way to set this by default.

    The idea of setting preferences to round duct to get horizontal takeoffs and then having to change to flex to the diffuser doesn't get it. There has to be a better way. Aubin shows this in his new book (p.292) so I'll research that tonight.

Similar Threads

  1. Drawing Flex Ducts in section
    By rnolla in forum Revit MEP - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2012-09-10, 08:58 PM
  2. Ducts in Legends
    By rohan.macinnes in forum Revit MEP - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2011-07-13, 10:18 PM
  3. Disappearing Ducts
    By Avatart in forum Revit MEP - General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2011-03-14, 07:07 PM
  4. show ducts under other ducts dashed
    By timsea81 in forum Revit MEP - General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2010-06-23, 03:29 PM
  5. Drawing Ducts
    By Griff in forum Revit MEP - General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2006-06-30, 02:18 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •