Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Spaces in Family File Names

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    The Silent Type RobertB's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-01
    Location
    Seattle WA USA
    Posts
    5,859
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Spaces in Family File Names

    The Autodesk Revit Model Content Style Guide, on page 25, specifies that file names should not include spaces.

    I disagree. I think the only reason for that is to avoid weird looking hyperlinks if you happen to host the family on Seek or some other web portal.

    Is there some other reason to avoid spaces of which I am unaware? (It cannot be a external database issue since most modern db permit spaces.)
    R. Robert Bell
    Design Technology Manager
    Stantec
    Opinions expressed are mine alone and do not reflect the views of Stantec.

  2. #2
    Certified AUGI Addict patricks's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    Memphis TN area
    Posts
    7,048
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Spaces in Family File Names

    Seems pretty odd, considering that many OOTB families have spaces in their file names.

  3. #3
    The Silent Type RobertB's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-01
    Location
    Seattle WA USA
    Posts
    5,859
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Spaces in Family File Names

    Quote Originally Posted by patricks View Post
    Seems pretty odd, considering that many OOTB families have spaces in their file names.
    <snort> You are correct.

    Download content style guide... free.
    Read the content style guide... free.
    Ignoring your own content style guide... priceless.
    R. Robert Bell
    Design Technology Manager
    Stantec
    Opinions expressed are mine alone and do not reflect the views of Stantec.

Similar Threads

  1. Room Names and Spaces
    By sjsl in forum Revit MEP - General
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 2010-06-11, 06:22 PM
  2. Allow spaces filenames / folder names in DIESEL Macros
    By autocad.wishlist1734 in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2006-11-06, 09:26 PM
  3. Spaces in, dashes in or long file names cause print failure.
    By weazel14 in forum AutoCAD Plotting
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-07-07, 05:53 PM
  4. Using Layer names with spaces in them, inside of a Script
    By amy.chen in forum AutoCAD Customization
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-04-06, 03:53 PM
  5. How to use Layer names with spaces in
    By b_v_mc in forum AutoCAD Customization
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2005-07-14, 02:25 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •