Thread: Questions Questions

Login to Give a bone

Default Questions Questions

Hi all,

I'm quite new to ASD and Revit, having been on a few courses and done some work using them I have a few questions which I hope some of you can shed some light on for me....(its not a widely used program in the UK but the package is getting more popular recently)..

Is Revit only good for concrete and ASD for steel, thats what I'm finding the more I use them?....I find ASD Concrete a little long in the tooth and Revits steel abilities a little limited ie beam/column connections only

I suppose my main question to you all is do you use them together or tend to stick to one program....or do you use both and intergrate them upon completion?

I find losing information when importing/exporting to one another a little frustrating especially when my engineer wants to use the model in his structural analysis program and components are missing for one reason or another

I look forward to reading your replies

Kind Regards

KL

All AUGI, all the time
    Login to Give a bone

Default Re: Questions Questions

I guess it depends what you are using this for.

I know that in the UK you (the drafter) schedule all of the rebar lengths, so for this purpose revit is fantastic. No more hand calcs for you, but having said that, you need to model your reo very carefully - it's very useful for a cross-check of an expected reo rate.

Secondly, I find revit is awesome for steel detailing.
    Its very neat, pretty fast, and the real beauty and time saving comes into effect when I am trying to cut sections, or especially if things start to move about, which is pretty much a given on any particular project.