Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Room Names and Spaces

  1. #1
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2004-05
    Posts
    792
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Question Room Names and Spaces

    I thought there was a way to get the Arch. room names to come thru in the linked MEP?
    We can generate spaces but then we have to manually change all of the names and room numbers in MEP.

    Is there such a thing?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    2003-12
    Posts
    5
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Room Names and Spaces

    Quote Originally Posted by sjsl View Post
    I thought there was a way to get the Arch. room names to come thru in the linked MEP?
    We can generate spaces but then we have to manually change all of the names and room numbers in MEP.

    Is there such a thing?
    You bet! Go to the Autodesk Subscription site to download and install the Space Naming Utility. It will install on an Add-in tab in the Revit MEP ribbon (It is also available for Revit MEP 2009). Link in your architectural model and place your spaces using the default space tags. Then run the Space Naming Utility to automatically replace the space tag's default naming and numbering with the room names and numbers from the architectural model. Make sure to re-run the Space Naming Utility when you get an updated copy of the architectural model in case any architectural room names or numbers have changed.

  3. #3
    Active Member 1N.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-09
    Posts
    52
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Room Names and Spaces

    Or you can Open your Space tag and change the Labels to be Room Name and Room Number not Space name or Space number...

    Kyle B also said this: Are the Levels in your MEP Model copy/monitored from the Architectural link? This is a critical factor to ensuring that Spaces read the Room information through the link.

  4. #4
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2008-03
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    95
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Room Names and Spaces

    Not sure the above solution is the best way to go; might be hard to follow since you will have tags that show the room number and names, and you will try and interact with spaces in your MEP model. I find it much easier to use the Space Naming Utility from Autodesk

  5. #5
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2004-05
    Posts
    792
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Room Names and Spaces

    We have tried to run the 2010 utility thru linked field and all we get is a space number and "unoccupied" for the space. What are we missing? Room bounding is turned on.

  6. #6
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2009-05
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    245
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Room Names and Spaces

    The utility reads the linked model's room names and numbers even if they were not filled out or placed properly. Maybe your view range is not set correctly?

  7. #7
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2004-05
    Posts
    792
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Angry Re: Room Names and Spaces

    still no go here for the utility.

    linked in - room bounding checked

    in mep model drew three new levels to match arch model

    collaborate - using monitor tool 1st clked mep level and corresponding arch level

    automatic room vol. used checked and unchecked

    run space utility - BIG NOTHING!

  8. #8
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2009-05
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    245
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Room Names and Spaces

    What about the upper limits and offset? do they jive with the level you're placing spaces.
    Personally, I have never had a problem with the space naming utility

  9. #9
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2008-03
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    95
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Room Names and Spaces

    Mind to post your model? I'm real curious to see what might be wrong in it... Not saying you're doing something wrong, but I've never had any problems with it yet.

  10. #10
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2004-05
    Posts
    792
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Room Names and Spaces

    I would post but the file is over 70 megs now but, thanks for the offer.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Revit 2012 can you Delete Unused Room Names & Department Names
    By billy007nh in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 2016-11-04, 06:34 PM
  2. Replies: 36
    Last Post: 2016-10-30, 10:53 PM
  3. Spaces in Family File Names
    By RobertB in forum Revit MEP - Families
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2010-02-10, 08:01 PM
  4. Help: Convert Space names to Room Names??
    By stykface in forum Revit MEP - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-06-30, 02:47 PM
  5. How to use Layer names with spaces in
    By b_v_mc in forum AutoCAD Customization
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2005-07-14, 02:25 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •