Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Railings at a single step "stair"

  1. #1
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Posts
    1,714
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Railings at a single step "stair"

    I am looking for some insight about a railing at a "stair" as shown attached. The stair isn't really a stair; you have two slabs at 1' difference vertically, and 1' difference horizontally, and a sliver of slab in between. The effect is a "step" of 6" rise and 12" run. I then need a railing on either side of the portion designated as a stair. Everywhere else it is treated as a seat.
    My problem is getting the rail to slope. I can give the start or end post a vertical offset, but the rail doesn't follow. As far as I can tell my only option is to do a stair of one tread? Just looking to verify I have no option but the kludge, yes? Or has someone found a nifty way to make railings work more intuitively?

    Thanks,
    Gordon
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    1,049
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Railings at a single step "stair"

    Yes, it would be a lot easier to create the railing if the two risers were created with the Stair tool.

  3. #3
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2004-01
    Location
    Columbus OH
    Posts
    465
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Railings at a single step "stair"

    Possibly using the curtain wall tool and custom panels and mullion... but you were trying to avoid the kludge department.
    What about making a custom baluster to create the railing slope and then the vertical offset for the bottom baluster?

  4. #4
    AUGI Addict cdatechguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-10
    Location
    CdA, ID
    Posts
    1,533
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Railings at a single step "stair"

    Small steps like these I create my railing as a family instead of a stair based railing. It just won't show up in the railing category.
    Michael "MP" Patrick
    "I only drink :coffee: until it's acceptable to drink or :whiskey: or :wine:"

  5. #5
    I could stop if I wanted to jspartz's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Posts
    361
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Railings at a single step "stair"

    Still cheating the system, but keeping it a railing, would be to make long skinny sloped floors under the railings, hide them in 3d views, and host your railing to it.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Jamie Spartz
    Virtual Construction Manager
    CD Smith Construction

  6. #6
    I could stop if I wanted to Phil Read's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    398
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Railings at a single step "stair"

    Just build it as something else - like a generic family component or specialty equipment.

    .02.

    Phil

  7. #7
    I could stop if I wanted to jspartz's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Posts
    361
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Railings at a single step "stair"

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil Read View Post
    Just build it as something else - like a generic family component or specialty equipment.

    .02.

    Phil
    It really depends on what you're doing with quantities and scheduling of items. I'd rather exclude items from a schedule, then have items not show up in a schedule. But, maybe you're not concerned with the railing being a railing.
    Jamie Spartz
    Virtual Construction Manager
    CD Smith Construction

  8. #8
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    1,049
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Railings at a single step "stair"

    Gordon,

    Check out this solution. The steps are done with an actual stair with two risers. I made a couple of lines invisible in the plan and in 3D. The railing is done in 3 segments. The two extensions are set as "Flat"; the middle segment is set as "By Host"; since the host is the mini stair, this middle segment of railing follows the slope of the stair.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by alfredo medina; 2010-05-11 at 02:17 AM.

  9. #9
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Posts
    1,714
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Railings at a single step "stair"

    Quote Originally Posted by Alfredo Medina View Post
    Gordon,

    Check out this solution. The steps are done with an actual stair with two risers. I made a couple lines invisible in the plan and in 3D. The railing is done in 3 segments. The two extensions are set as "Flat"; the middle segment is set as "By Host"; since the host is the mini stair, this middle segment of railing follows the slope the stair.
    Alfredo,
    I think that is exactly where I am going. I have probably 7 or 8 slightly varied conditions, so a railing would definitely be helpful. For a one off I suspect I would just punt to a Generic Model family, and then be bummed about the line weights not matching. The stairs actually wrap around the corned and have a lot more complexity than shown, but in the end I suspect that is still the best answer.

    As for railings, it sure would be nice if you could just elevate one end post and expect the rail to follow appropriately. Perhaps in the 2015 release.

    Thanks all!
    Gordon

  10. #10
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2008-02
    Posts
    115
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Railings at a single step "stair"

    Quote Originally Posted by Gordon.Price View Post
    ...would be nice if you could just elevate one end post and expect the rail to follow appropriately....
    Gordon,

    I'm not sure you have to abandon the floor idea in lieu of mini-stairs. Check out the attached. Not the most beautiful rail i modeled, but hey, it's just to illustrate a point. I used the lower floor as the host, set the top and bottom horizontal portions of the rail to "flat" and the middle portion to "sloped". One of the two flat sections needs a height correction assigned. In the railing definition, the end post is set to 1'-0" above the host, thus accomplishing what i think you want.

    This seems to work well if the elevation difference between your upper and lower "landings" is more or less consistent.

    Sure this might be a bit fussy, but no more so than modeling lots of short stairs.

    Hope this helps,
    - Jon
    Attached Files Attached Files

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Stair issues "Stair Requires No More Than Two Boundaries":
    By jj mac in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2017-09-26, 01:13 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2012-06-06, 11:54 AM
  3. Suche "Illustrations-Elemente" STEP/IGES etc..
    By carsten.wutke in forum Deutsch - 3ds Max / VIZ
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2009-12-04, 12:27 PM
  4. Polyline length set "step"
    By banananjam in forum AutoCAD Map 3D - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2008-04-25, 08:35 AM
  5. Convert a "IGES" or "STEP" file to a "SAT" file
    By jeff.garr in forum AutoCAD 3D (2007 and above)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2006-11-20, 08:48 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •