See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: Revit 2010 will not start

  1. #1
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2006-11
    Location
    somewhere
    Posts
    112
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Revit 2010 will not start

    We have been running Revit 2010 for a year and now all of a sudden it will not start. The Revit splash screen appears then it seems to just stop opening. Anyone know how to fix this? We unloaded a reloaded Revit but that did not work. It seems this has been a problem for past versions but I have not seen a solution for 2010. any ideas?
    Thanks.

  2. #2
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    1,049
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revit 2010 will not start

    It could be a number of things... one of them might be hardware acceleration settings; that's a common culprit for that type of issue. Give it a try. The following link contains instructions about how to change that settings in Windows XP and Windows Vista:
    http://www.pixelmetrics.com/Tips/Vid...celeration.php

  3. #3
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2004-01
    Location
    Columbus OH
    Posts
    465
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revit 2010 will not start

    If its graphics related you might want to check your Revit.ini file for these two entries.
    UseGraphicsHardware=0
    SuppressGraphicsHardwareWarning=1

    I'm not completely convinced its graphics though since I had a similar issue in 2009 and strating with a clean .ini file didn't fix the problem, Also if you chance the Hardware Acceration through WIndows it affects your entire system graphics which would effectively be the same as throwing your graphics card in the circular file and using the on board graphics port.
    If a fresh install didn't help at all it could be a licensing problem like Revit is having trouble talking to the license server or the license serve isn't playing nicely.

  4. #4
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2006-11
    Location
    somewhere
    Posts
    112
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revit 2010 will not start

    The hardware acceleration settings didn't work. What I don't understand is one day it was working and the next day it stopped. I don't get why changing some settings would make it work since those settings have been the same for the past year.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2008-02
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    11
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revit 2010 will not start

    Had the same issue here yesterday. I performed a clean uninstall of Revit Architecture 2010 (http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet...linkID=9243099) and then reinstalled it. Seems to have resolved the problem.

  6. #6
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2005-02
    Posts
    1
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revit 2010 will not start

    OK....I have a lab of 25 stand-alones running Revit 2010 ...same exact machines, hardware etc.....last thursday one group of kids shut down Revit ...three minutes later another group started REVIT....(didn't even shut off machines)-Three machines would not load REVIT
    Have the same problem listed in the thread....splash screen for 10-20 seconds then nothing.
    Did a complete uninstall/reinstall-nothing.
    I just had another one with the same problem .....that makes four.

    I loaded REVIT MEP on one of the "broken" computers....loaded and runs fine.

    Thoughts?
    Thanks

  7. #7
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2006-11
    Location
    somewhere
    Posts
    112
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revit 2010 will not start

    Hagbard,
    Thanks your link worked, although it was a royal pain in the...!

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    2008-02
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    11
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Revit 2010 will not start

    Maybe this works as a solution too: http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet...P=OTC-RSSSUP01

    Haven't tried it myself though.

  9. #9
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2010-05
    Posts
    1
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revit 2010 will not start

    Thanks Hagbard, we had this problem, and the autodesk link fixed our issue!

  10. #10
    I could stop if I wanted to rkitect's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-01
    Posts
    449
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revit 2010 will not start

    Wanted to confirm, coworker had this same issue and the fix in the link above worked.

    Thanks for the post.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. AutoCad 2010 stürzt nach Start ab
    By j.voigtmann in forum Deutsch - AutoCAD LT / AutoSketch
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2011-03-05, 07:07 AM
  2. Revit 2010 WU2 bug in start menu!
    By samov in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2009-10-19, 09:33 PM
  3. Revit 2010 WU2 sometimes fails to start?!
    By samov in forum Revit - Platform
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2009-10-19, 08:34 AM
  4. When to Start in Revit
    By lhanyok in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2007-12-06, 09:34 PM
  5. REVIT won't start!
    By jwilhelm in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2005-11-11, 08:03 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •