Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Moving solid hatches to back ground

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-09
    Posts
    4
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Exclamation Moving solid hatches to back ground

    I have created a series of dwgs that are split by zone. I am trying to represent the zone using a solid fill background. My problem is that in some dwgs when I xref in this location diagram some work fine yet in others for no reason at all the solid fill moves to the front obscuring the informtaion. Is anyone aware of an setting that may be causing this? Or has any ideas I'd be grateful.

  2. #2
    AUGI Director scott.wilcox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-11
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    990
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Moving solid hatches to back ground

    Draworder seems to be an issue in some versions, what version are you running?
    Why draw straws? Just draw one straw and array it.

    Scott Wilcox - Edmonton, Alberta


  3. #3
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2003-06
    Location
    North Dallas
    Posts
    168
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Moving solid hatches to back ground

    Does the hatch move to the front even after using DRAWORDER to move it to the back?

  4. #4
    Active Member Cadtharsis's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-02
    Location
    Pi World. It's not what I was thinking. :(
    Posts
    90
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Moving solid hatches to back ground

    For whatever reason, AutoCAD often screws up the displayed draw order, but the regen command usually corrects this. I also keep the draworder toolbar handy, as I work with drawings that have several layers of solid hatched objects and wide polylines.

    Try regen. If that doesn't fix it, make sure you've pushed the hatch to the bottom, and regen again. Do it twice.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-10
    Location
    Hershey, PA
    Posts
    27
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Moving solid hatches to back ground

    In the past, Autocad would fumble the draworder when you xref drawings in... it would display the newest objects on top.

    the work around would be to copy with a basepoint all of the objects you want on top, delete the objects... then past it back in to the drawing.

    But I have not had any problems with this in the recent versions though...

  6. #6
    Certifiable AUGI Addict irneb's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-11
    Location
    Jo'burg SA
    Posts
    4,512
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Moving solid hatches to back ground

    Sometimes it would also help doing a bring-to-front of the rest of the entities, instead of send-to-back of the hatching.

    As for the xref causing problems with draw-order, this seems to happen every time someone uses RefEdit on it. Only way to get around this is as aloraw's indicated, but even then I've found it breaks sometimes.
    Knowledge is proportional to experience, but wisdom is inversely proportional to ego!
    My little bit of "wisdom": Hind-sight is useless, unless used to improve the next forethought!

  7. #7
    Certifiable AUGI Addict tedg's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    in the upper right corner
    Posts
    3,288
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Moving solid hatches to back ground

    Quote Originally Posted by irneb View Post
    Sometimes it would also help doing a bring-to-front of the rest of the entities, instead of send-to-back of the hatching.

    As for the xref causing problems with draw-order, this seems to happen every time someone uses RefEdit on it. Only way to get around this is as aloraw's indicated, but even then I've found it breaks sometimes.
    I think RefEdit is a dangerous thing (when editing xrefs). I use it all the time to edit blocks but when I want to edit an xref I use XOPEN instead.

    What happens, atleast in our office, is if someone edits an xref using refedit, all the drawings that are referencing that file are requesting to reload it because it feels it's been "updated" even after you reload it. The only way I found to fix this problem is to "open" the xref file and save it, that seems to help.
    Ted
    ____________________________________________________________________ ________________
    Windows 10
    AutoCAD 2018 - REVIT 2019 - Inventor Professional 2017 (when I can)

Similar Threads

  1. DT134-2: I Work in the Cloud with My Feet on Solid Ground
    By Autodesk University in forum Design Technology
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2015-08-07, 05:27 PM
  2. 2011: Multi-Leader Back Ground Mask
    By gfreddog in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2010-06-22, 06:53 PM
  3. Imported dwg hatches turn solid black
    By gmg in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2010-02-24, 04:09 PM
  4. Hatches won't stay back!
    By nightNday in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2008-08-23, 12:20 AM
  5. Command to Send all Hatches to Back
    By autocad.wishlist1734 in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2007-11-29, 05:28 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •