Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: COLUMN TO BEAM GAP

  1. #1
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2004-08
    Location
    Beaverton, Or.
    Posts
    132
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default COLUMN TO BEAM GAP

    I am laying out a plan with girder trusses and I have 2 questions. Should I draw them from the face of the tube steel or from center to center? And how do i get revit to show a gap from the end of the beam to the column?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    2007-12
    Posts
    43
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: COLUMN TO BEAM GAP

    Revit automatically does this if the members are connected. The endpoint of your beam should coincide with the center of column. Look at the "end offset" on the beam. Make sure that it intersects the column.

  3. #3
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2004-08
    Location
    Beaverton, Or.
    Posts
    132
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: COLUMN TO BEAM GAP

    I think revit might be a little to automatic. One end of the beam shows up fine but the other end shows up over the column on the other end even though the connection point is at the center of the column.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    2007-12
    Posts
    43
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: COLUMN TO BEAM GAP

    Is the column tall enough? If the beam end is 1/16" higher than the top of column it's not going to work.

  5. #5
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2004-08
    Location
    Beaverton, Or.
    Posts
    132
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: COLUMN TO BEAM GAP

    the section shows that it is just under the joist seat, but that shouldn't mater. Revit really needs to work on the graphic controls. I need to produce drawings that look good or at least the way I want them to look and it should not be this hard.

  6. #6
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2008-06
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    141
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: COLUMN TO BEAM GAP

    I've found with steel pipe columns the steel beams (that are connected to center of columns) may have a gap greater than 1/2" if you're working with a non-orthogonal grid system. It's as if the round column behaves as a square column. Figured I'd mention it just in case it helps.

Similar Threads

  1. Beam to column ???
    By johnthao714 in forum Revit Structure - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2010-06-14, 12:10 PM
  2. Quickest way to unjoin beam and column and attach column bottom of beam.
    By scowsert in forum Revit Structure - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-04-24, 03:54 AM
  3. Column under beam
    By mike.vroegindeweij in forum Revit Structure - Wish List
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2007-12-31, 08:34 PM
  4. beam / column tie sets
    By Peter Davies in forum Revit Structure - Wish List
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-09-17, 12:35 AM
  5. Column & Beam Schedules
    By barathd in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2005-08-10, 03:58 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •