Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: PROFILING OF 3D POLYLINES

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2004-08
    Posts
    12
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default PROFILING OF 3D POLYLINES

    Under the Civil package of Land Development Desktop you have the option to profile roads and utilities when a surface is built. A new Command should be implemented in the profile section to allow the user to create a profile without using a surface, aka. profiling a 3dpolyline. More than enough times in the early stages of a project we need to do preliminary profiling. 90% of the time the existing surface is built but the proposed surface has not been. Instead of rebuilding the proposed surface many times over, why not have the functionality to produce a profile from a 3dpolyline. This would be a great time saver for those who use thew civil package extensively. Something to think about.

    Sincerely,
    W.C. Patterson

  2. #2
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    2,337
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: PROFILING OF 3D POLYLINES

    Why not take those 3d poly lines, and use them as breaklines
    to build the finished ground model? Then when you made your roadway
    profile with multiple surfaces turned on both existing and proposed
    would appear in the resultant profile.

  3. #3
    Administrator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,779
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: PROFILING OF 3D POLYLINES

    Quote Originally Posted by 348PATTERSON
    More than enough times in the early stages of a project we need to do preliminary profiling..... why not have the functionality to produce a profile from a 3dpolyline.
    Sincerely,
    W.C. Patterson
    We have written a routine to do just that, and use it frequently.

    It also can

    + Create a 3D Polyline from a range or selection set of points
    + Create a profile from a range or selection set of points
    + Create a profile from a 2D Polyline, using the surface for the elevation (like Quick Section)

    Have you looked into C3D functionality, or 3rd party tools for LDT? With C3D on the horizon, I'm not sure how much effort, if any, will be spent on LDT improvements.

    Regards..

Similar Threads

  1. Polylines with arcs to polylines with segments
    By randyspear in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-04-15, 06:22 PM
  2. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2008-02-22, 04:13 PM
  3. Profiling without a defined surface
    By 348PATTERSON in forum Land Desktop - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2004-12-14, 12:17 PM
  4. Profiling A Curved Wall
    By BillyGrey in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2004-09-13, 09:33 PM
  5. AutoCAD polylines to 3d polylines
    By neil_morrish in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2004-07-22, 10:40 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •