Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Revit files stall McAffee Security Center

  1. #1
    AUGI Addict MikeJarosz's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-10
    Location
    New York NY
    Posts
    1,497
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Revit files stall McAffee Security Center

    I downloaded Revit 2011 from the Autodesk Assistance program. I have discovered that my McAffee security scanner is getting stuck on this file:

    C:/Program Files/Common Files/Akamai/Cache/37309/Autodesk_Revit_Architecture_2011_English_Win_32-64bit(2).exe

    Trying to kill McAffee actually brought up the blue screen of death. I have a 32 bit machine, and Revit runs OK: I haven't had any problems. Do I need this file?

    Anyone have any ideas? I use Malwarebytes, Windows Defender, AdAware and Hitman Pro. They all run OK, only McAffee chokes. I got slammed by some major trojans, viruses and dirty tricks (like redirection). That's why I run all these security progs. Of them all, only Hitman found and corrected the redirection problem.
    "everything you know is wrong...." -FST

  2. #2
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2015-10
    Location
    Wellington , NZ
    Posts
    565
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revit files stall McAffee Security Center

    Quote Originally Posted by MikeJarosz View Post
    I downloaded Revit 2011 from the Autodesk Assistance program. I have discovered that my McAffee security scanner is getting stuck on this file:

    C:/Program Files/Common Files/Akamai/Cache/37309/Autodesk_Revit_Architecture_2011_English_Win_32-64bit(2).exe

    Trying to kill McAffee actually brought up the blue screen of death. I have a 32 bit machine, and Revit runs OK: I haven't had any problems. Do I need this file?

    Anyone have any ideas? I use Malwarebytes, Windows Defender, AdAware and Hitman Pro. They all run OK, only McAffee chokes. I got slammed by some major trojans, viruses and dirty tricks (like redirection). That's why I run all these security progs. Of them all, only Hitman found and corrected the redirection problem.
    Yo Mike,
    I am running McAfee Internet Security (latest version) and have had no problems with this program going back a year to using Revit 2009 / Vista x64 / and the last version of McAfee Internet Security. I am now running Win7 x64 and although its only been a morning everything seems crisp and running great (Win 7 Pro / x64, Revit 2010 x64)

    I am not sure about your configuration however, usually, you should turn Windows Defender OFF, when running another suite of firewall / antivirus otherwise things will probably turn to custard - noit sure about Hitman and have not used Adware for 2 years as found that they all have a range of unexpected exclusions they never tell you about.

    I had been using Norton 360 v2.0 and then v3.0, and SystemWorks before that and always found that Norton products while being pretty reliable seem to have a heavy footprint ? and are sluggish. I found my machine was noticeably smoother and faster when Norton was gone and McAfee took its place.
    I have had no problems with Revit or Windows with McAfee installed.

    How about rip it all out, clean it all out, reboot, check the places where things are left over from un-installs, install only McAfee and see how it goes ?
    cheers
    trombe

  3. #3
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2008-02
    Posts
    58
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revit files stall McAffee Security Center

    After working in tech support for a while, I've come to conclude that McAffee will do more damage to your computer than most viruses. Unless you are an experienced system administrator uninstall it and used an alternative product. I personally used AVG since it's a mature product, it's free for home use, and it bogs down the system less than most of it's competitors (ie. Norton/McAffee).

    As an aside, never delete a file McAffee suspects is a virus but won't automatically remove for you. They're almost always false positives from a nonsensical heuristic detection scheme. Just run a competing product instead and if it comes back clean you're fine.

  4. #4
    AUGI Addict MikeJarosz's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-10
    Location
    New York NY
    Posts
    1,497
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revit files stall McAffee Security Center

    Thanks for the advice. I left a full scan running all night and McAffee eventually finished checking the Revit files and moved on to finish the scan. The false positives issue is interesting, because only McAffee found certain rootkits, none of the others did. Either they are not really there, or the other software is missing them. Incidentally, I have discovered atapi.sys is a favorite sys file for hackers to mess with (it stores shortcuts for redirections). So if you ever type a question into Google and wind up in the Disney Channel, your atapi might be hacked. Hitman 3.5 was the only security package that found it and fixed it for me.
    "everything you know is wrong...." -FST

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2014-10-22, 06:06 PM
  2. DB ADA Stall?
    By gabriel.mitchell in forum Dynamic Blocks - Sharing
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2010-02-04, 06:12 PM
  3. Bathroom Stall Door
    By footbridge in forum Revit Architecture - Families
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-10-01, 02:51 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-06-05, 04:44 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •