Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Installing 2000i effects add/remove programs

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2004-12
    Posts
    2
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Question Installing 2000i effects add/remove programs

    When I install 2000i (over a network), it installs and runs OK. But, when I open my Add/Remove Programs in Window XP, it lists the first several programs and I then have to scroll down about 100 pages on the scroll bar until I get to the bottom to see the rest of my installed software. These pages are just blank white space. Also, 2000i is not in the list of installed programs at all. I even rebuilt my machine from scratch - including formatting the hard drive and getting all Win XP updates. When I install 2000i again, it does the same thing. Anyone have a clue?

  2. #2
    Mod / Salary / SM Wanderer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    5,406
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Question Re: Installing 2000i effects add/remove programs

    Quote Originally Posted by Todd.Worstell
    When I install 2000i (over a network), it installs and runs OK. But, when I open my Add/Remove Programs in Window XP, it lists the first several programs and I then have to scroll down about 100 pages on the scroll bar until I get to the bottom to see the rest of my installed software. These pages are just blank white space. Also, 2000i is not in the list of installed programs at all. I even rebuilt my machine from scratch - including formatting the hard drive and getting all Win XP updates. When I install 2000i again, it does the same thing. Anyone have a clue?
    I have had the space problem with other adesk software, too, but, they always show up on the installed list?
    Melanie Stone
    @MistresDorkness

    Archibus, FMS/FMInteract and AutoCAD Expert (I use BricsCAD, Revit, Tandem, and Planon, too)
    Technical Editor
    not all those who wander are lost

  3. #3
    Administrator Ed Jobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Turlock, CA
    Posts
    6,368
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Installing 2000i effects add/remove programs

    You have to edit the registry. Look for a similar key to this:

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\{5783F2D7-0002-0409-0000-0060B0CE6BBA}

    Edit the DisplayIcon value. For some reason, the last parameter gets set to -1. Change it to 1.
    "C:\Autodesk\AutoCAD Map 2000i\acad.ico,1"
    C:> ED WORKING....

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    2004-12
    Posts
    2
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Installing 2000i effects add/remove programs

    Thanks Ed. Changing the registry key fixed everything.

  5. #5
    Administrator Ed Jobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Turlock, CA
    Posts
    6,368
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Installing 2000i effects add/remove programs

    You're welcome. BTW, this seems to only happen on 2ki products, not 2002 and up.
    C:> ED WORKING....

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-08
    Posts
    3
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Installing 2000i effects add/remove programs

    i have the same problem but it is with ACAD 2002 of which your fix is said not to fix ACAD 2002 or newer so any help wout be appreicated. Thanks

  7. #7
    Administrator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,803
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Installing 2000i effects add/remove programs

    Quote Originally Posted by marc.griffies
    i have the same problem but it is with ACAD 2002 of which your fix is said not to fix ACAD 2002 or newer so any help wout be appreicated. Thanks
    No, I have seen this on 2002 products. Same change to the registry to fix (the CLSID may be different, but it's not hard to spot the correct uninstall entry - just browse)
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

  8. #8
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,570
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Installing 2000i effects add/remove programs

    ....and later .....

    yes, this also applies to A2002, including LT.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2011-12-20, 03:18 PM
  2. Light effects?
    By cadman6735 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2008-11-05, 05:59 PM
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2007-03-30, 04:19 PM
  4. Windows XP - add/remove programs only shows programs listed with "A" after ACAD 2002 installation
    By marc.griffies in forum Operating Systems
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-08-08, 05:23 PM
  5. AutoCAD 2002 - Long blank space in XP add/remove programs list
    By stephen.p.kimber in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-02-02, 04:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •