Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Invoking Action Recorder

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2009-06
    Posts
    5
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Invoking Action Recorder

    Hi,

    Does anyone know what the syntax would be to invoke the Action Recorder to run X named actm file using LISP?

  2. #2
    The Silent Type RobertB's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-01
    Location
    Seattle WA USA
    Posts
    5,859
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Invoking Action Recorder

    Code:
    (command "<my action name>")
    (not even breaking into a sweat!)
    R. Robert Bell
    Design Technology Manager
    Stantec
    Opinions expressed are mine alone and do not reflect the views of Stantec.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2009-06
    Posts
    5
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Invoking Action Recorder

    thanks Robert, it's ironic I should be using a LISP routine to manage the inflexibility of REVIT's titleblocks which is subsequently exported to DWG.

    So far I have activated a script in the routine but it seems to disregard the contents of the script once loaded and continues with the LISP routine. It shows the LISP routine "loading" the Script in the command dialogue but nothing happens. Is there a setting I'm missing to ensure it executes the contents of the script? Here is the dialogue and code.

    Scripting and Purging >> F:\REVIT LOCAL FILES\1210.DWG. Please wait...script
    Enter script file name <\Folders\sd\My Documents\Drawing4.scr>: W:/AUTOCAD/SCRIPTS/Titlechange.scr
    ****IT SHOULD BE EXECUTING THE SCRIPT HERE BUT > ******
    Command:
    Scripting and Purging >> F:\REVIT LOCAL FILES\1220.DWG. Please wait...script
    Enter script file name <\Folders\sd\My Documents\Drawing4.scr>: W:/AUTOCAD/SCRIPTS/Titlechange.scr
    ****IT SHOULD BE EXECUTING THE SCRIPT HERE ETC.******
    Command:

    The code I'm using is as follows

    (command "script" "W:/AUTOCAD/SCRIPTS/Titlechange.scr")

  4. #4
    Administrator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,714
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Invoking Action Recorder

    How to format your post:

    http://forums.augi.com/misc.php?do=bbcode

    This will just make reading your posts easier, and more likely to get a helpful response.

    Cheers!
    "How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

    Computer Specs:
    Dell Precision 3660, Core i9-12900K 5.2GHz, 64GB DDR5 RAM, PCIe 4.0 M.2 SSD (RAID 0), 16GB NVIDIA RTX A4000

  5. #5
    The Silent Type RobertB's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-01
    Location
    Seattle WA USA
    Posts
    5,859
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Invoking Action Recorder

    Quote Originally Posted by s_depc View Post
    thanks Robert, it's ironic I should be using a LISP routine to manage the inflexibility of REVIT's titleblocks which is subsequently exported to DWG.

    So far I have activated a script in the routine but it seems to disregard the contents of the script once loaded and continues with the LISP routine. It shows the LISP routine "loading" the Script in the command dialogue but nothing happens. Is there a setting I'm missing to ensure it executes the contents of the script? Here is the dialogue and code.

    Scripting and Purging >> F:\REVIT LOCAL FILES\1210.DWG. Please wait...script
    Enter script file name <\Folders\sd\My Documents\Drawing4.scr>: W:/AUTOCAD/SCRIPTS/Titlechange.scr
    ****IT SHOULD BE EXECUTING THE SCRIPT HERE BUT > ******
    Command:
    Scripting and Purging >> F:\REVIT LOCAL FILES\1220.DWG. Please wait...script
    Enter script file name <\Folders\sd\My Documents\Drawing4.scr>: W:/AUTOCAD/SCRIPTS/Titlechange.scr
    ****IT SHOULD BE EXECUTING THE SCRIPT HERE ETC.******
    Command:

    The code I'm using is as follows

    (command "script" "W:/AUTOCAD/SCRIPTS/Titlechange.scr")
    If you are using LISP, why are you even bothering with a script? Not to mention, you didn't bother to post the contents on the SCR file which is probably more important.
    R. Robert Bell
    Design Technology Manager
    Stantec
    Opinions expressed are mine alone and do not reflect the views of Stantec.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    2009-06
    Posts
    5
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Invoking Action Recorder

    Hi Robert,

    I didn't see the need to post the script because it was working fine when not called up from a LISP routine so the problem I felt wasn't in the script. I didn't do the whole routine in LISP because I'm simply using the LISP routine to open all files from a selected directory to process the script called up from the LISP routine.

    It would be handy to have this type of arrangement and it's something you can't do from a script without using something like Autoscript software or naming every file you want to open from within the script a pain if you have to open 10+ files that may change in name.

    Hope this helps..

Similar Threads

  1. What do you use Action Recorder for?
    By mountpelepele in forum AutoCAD Action Recorder
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 2017-10-10, 09:19 PM
  2. Action Recorder save as to VB or C#
    By Wish List System in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2017-07-14, 02:43 PM
  3. 2012: Action Recorder and MTEXT
    By hwright185206 in forum AutoCAD Action Recorder
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2013-12-13, 05:23 AM
  4. 2011: Problem with Action Recorder
    By Borgster in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2011-03-09, 03:46 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •