Thread: Basic Questions Volume 1

Login to Give a bone

Thumbs down Basic Questions Volume 1

Hi,

I am new to Revit and have completed basic and intermediate Revit 2010 classes at a local community college. The coursework consisted of training materials published by Autodesk and Ascent. I also have Aubin's Mastering Revit 2010. I've been using A-Cad for about half of my 33 years in architecture

I've been working on a 'bank' that the CC class instructor gave to us as a practice exercise. As I work on bank I've found I've made some basic drafting errors but I'm not sure what I did wrong so I don't do it again or how to fix the error. At times I am tempted to just start over with an object but in 'real life' that may not prove to be the best way to fix something.

None of the above mentioned books have an index that lists commands / variables that I could look up. Sometimes I'm not sure what to look up in a book or through the Revit help.

With that too long background information, this will be the first of a number of posts asking some basic information. If this is not the best forum on the site for these questions, I ask the mods to kindly move it to the appropiate forum.

For the bank plan I imported a A-Cad plan drawing and had to re-import the plan after drawing most of the plan. The imported drawing cover some or all of the objects. Where do I find the change the drawing order command? I can't seem to follow what the Revit help is telling me to do.

I have a restroom and I want to check how far the toilet is from the closest adjacent wall (should be 18") Revit tells me how far it is from the farthest wall. How do I change which wall shows the temporary dimension?

Thanks,

Greg

When I grow up I want to be a little boy.

I could stop if I wanted to cek's Avatar
    Login to Give a bone

Default Re: Basic Questions Volume 1

Not sure if this is what you are looking for but try this.