See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: turning ACADs coordinates into usable text?

  1. #1
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2009-05
    Posts
    109
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default turning ACADs coordinates into usable text?

    I need an easy way to list the coordinates of a single point, not a survey or Civil 3D point, but like the point on the end of the line. When the cursor snaps to it, the coordinates are listed in the bottom left of the screen but i cant seem to find a way to turn that information into usable text without writing them down then entering it into MTEXT.

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    8,483
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: turning ACADs coordinates into usable text?

    Look into using FIELDs within text.
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  3. #3
    Super Moderator david_peterson's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-09
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    5,671
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: turning ACADs coordinates into usable text?

    Not sure if this will help or not, you could use the ID command with your command line window open; pick the open and copy and paste form the command line window.
    If you have a ton of them you just want to list in sequence, there was a lisp routine I used once upon a time that would get the coords of all points (but you'd need to add points to your drawing) and put them in a text file that excel would understand.
    I'm thinking there has to be a better way to do this though. A one pick id point tool. I'm sure someone has done something close to this.
    Dave Peterson
    BIM Coordinator

    Acad - 2019 - Revit 2020 w/ BIM 360 - Navisworks - 3ds 2020 - Ensacpe - Lumion - Win 7 64 - i7-8086K 4.0GHz 32GB Ram - Nvidia Quadro P2000
    "The more you know, the less you know, because the more you know you don't know". --M. Lin

  4. #4
    Active Member NerdlingOne's Avatar
    Join Date
    2008-07
    Location
    Boise
    Posts
    63
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: turning ACADs coordinates into usable text?

    Quote Originally Posted by Opie View Post
    Look into using FIELDs within text.
    Based on what Opie said, try this.

    1) Draw a circle on a point you want to ID.
    2) next to that circle draw an MTEXT box
    3) Insert a field into that MTEXT
    4) Select field category, Object, Object type, select the circle then select center.
    5) Now copy the circle on any point you like and regen. The Mtext will update with it's id point. You can clip copy the text contents or use them to display the coordinates.

    (I used Acad 2009 to do this)

Similar Threads

  1. 2011: Moving Text Causes Civil3D Drawing area to shrink usable area
    By Brian Benton in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2013-05-17, 03:42 PM
  2. Attibuted Text Z Coordinates inside a block
    By dgodfather in forum AutoCAD LT - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2012-02-17, 04:10 PM
  3. basic coordinates text file
    By dmingo in forum AutoCAD Map 3D - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2007-11-05, 08:44 PM
  4. Place text from file at coordinates
    By alcyonllc in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2007-02-22, 06:26 PM
  5. Turning on WYSIWYG Text Editor
    By Scott D Davis in forum Forum Tips & Tricks (Read only)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2005-03-08, 04:33 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •