Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Revit Rooms

  1. #1
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2003-08
    Location
    England
    Posts
    87
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Revit Rooms

    Is it possible to see Revit Rooms and Spaces visually? At the moment, the only way I can access them is via the properties tab on the selection tree.

    When you select something related to a room on the tree some elements in the model are highlighted, but I can't work out how Navisworks is deciding what to highlight. I'd prefer to see the rooms bounding box.

  2. #2
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2003-08
    Location
    England
    Posts
    87
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revit Rooms

    Have just noticed that if you select an item related to a room such as a door or window, the room is added as a property tab to that item. Doesn't seem to apply to walls though.

    And would still like to see the bounding box!

  3. #3
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2006-05
    Location
    Portland, ME
    Posts
    198
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revit Rooms

    Room bounding boxes do export. You need to make sure you have Export Room geometry selected when you export your NWC. See the attached images for more info.

    Cheers
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #4
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2016-01
    Location
    Albuquerque New Mexico
    Posts
    53
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revit Rooms

    To the first part of your question to see the rooms visually you can see the rooms visually by applying a color scheme to your plans. This allows you to see the extent of your rooms. There are several ways to color plan, by room, by department, or anything. I use this a lot when I'm putting code plans together.
    Mathew Miller
    SMPC Architects
    Albuquerque New Mexico
    http://revittize.blogspot.com/

  5. #5
    I could stop if I wanted to Teresa.Martin's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-11
    Posts
    438
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revit Rooms

    Quote Originally Posted by amixam View Post
    Room bounding boxes do export. You need to make sure you have Export Room geometry selected when you export your NWC. See the attached images for more info.

    Cheers
    You should also check convert all properties and make sure entire project is selected. Since the rooms are "invisible" by default in a 3d view, you need to select the entire project option to get them to show up in Navisworks.
    Best regards,
    Teresa Martin
    Senior Application Specialist, IdeateInc

    Ideate on Youtube! http://www.youtube.com/user/IdeateInc
    Ideate Solutions blogs! http://ideatesolutions.blogspot.com/

    Check out my blog: http://bimnewworld.blogspot.com

  6. #6
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2003-12
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    206
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revit Rooms

    What we have found the best way to do things is go level by level and turn only rooms on in each level. Then, we export each level of rooms and append those to the master.nwf.

    That way, we can be as deliberate or non-deliberate as we want.

Similar Threads

  1. Revit Rooms - Challenges with Cubicles
    By Wanderer in forum Facilities Management In Practice
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2018-07-23, 04:48 PM
  2. 2011: Revit Linked Rooms tagging
    By rbcameron1 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2011-11-09, 11:14 PM
  3. Exporting Rooms From Revit to NWC
    By abhibasu in forum NavisWorks - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2011-07-07, 11:57 AM
  4. Revit API To and From Rooms for Doors
    By bfeldman in forum Revit - API
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2009-06-25, 10:04 PM
  5. Revit Rooms from Excel
    By yongkukim in forum Revit - In Practice
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-01-30, 03:30 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •