Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: wind load for robot 2011

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2010-07
    Posts
    67
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default wind load for robot 2011

    In Concrete Building CBS , we can get automatic wind load on a concrete tower i.e high rise concrete storey building - why this option is not valid in robot 2011 as we can find in etabs program , it will save times

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    2010-04
    Posts
    6
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: wind load for robot 2011

    Hi
    in robot wind loads are available automaticly
    define the code in 'preference'
    loads
    others loads
    wind/snow 2D/3D

  3. #3
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2010-07
    Posts
    67
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: wind load for robot 2011

    Quote Originally Posted by allagui_taharfr View Post
    Hi
    in robot wind loads are available automaticly
    define the code in 'preference'
    loads
    others loads
    wind/snow 2D/3D
    many thanks for helping but I am talking regarding to generate automatic wind load for concrete high rise building ... it is not available in robot as Etabs
    because etabs generates the wind load automatically and assign to the C.G of each floor

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    2010-04
    Posts
    6
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: wind load for robot 2011

    Quote Originally Posted by mecheil.edward.hanna View Post
    many thanks for helping but I am talking regarding to generate automatic wind load for concrete high rise building ... it is not available in robot as Etabs
    because etabs generates the wind load automatically and assign to the C.G of each floor
    Hi
    first step :you have to define the load cases DL,LL,TL...
    2nd :you assign a values of each load case then go to #2 and generate your combinations...

  5. #5
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2010-07
    Posts
    67
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: wind load for robot 2011

    Quote Originally Posted by allagui_taharfr View Post
    Hi
    first step :you have to define the load cases DL,LL,TL...
    2nd :you assign a values of each load case then go to #2 and generate your combinations...
    If you draw a concrete building wind load will not be generated automaticlly I am sure
    you have to assign it manually
    Thank you

  6. #6
    Member Dieter V's Avatar
    Join Date
    2008-10
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    6
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: wind load for robot 2011

    Automatic wind loading is always dangereous. That way, an engineer doesn't have any controls on how a load is created. In fact, Eurocodes are very general if it concerns external pressure coefficients. Mostly they do not correspond with real situations. The EC's are that unclear that some countries doesn't have a closing NAD.

    I suggest you use the option of cladding and a surface load which will spread the wind load very well. You can choose if some intersecting bars need to be ignored in the trapezoidal distribution of loads or not. That way you choose on your own which cp coefficient to use on your wind load.
    Dieter Vermeulen
    Product Manager AEC
    i-Theses bvba
    Belgium

Similar Threads

  1. wind load 3D in Robot Structural
    By nthu899169 in forum Robot Structural Analysis
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2016-07-05, 11:03 AM
  2. Automatic wind load in Robot
    By sengsmith714686 in forum Robot Structural Analysis
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2011-11-18, 04:07 AM
  3. Wind load in robot structural analysis
    By sengsmith714686 in forum Robot Structural Analysis
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2011-11-18, 01:20 AM
  4. Wind and Snow 2D/3D Load on a model that was imported from Revit Structure 2011
    By takacs.levente in forum Robot Structural Analysis
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2010-07-05, 10:21 AM
  5. 3D WIND LOAD GENERATION
    By sayattia in forum Robot Structural Analysis
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2010-03-08, 06:44 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •