Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: No sweep in in-place mass?

  1. #1
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2009-03
    Posts
    77
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default No sweep in in-place mass?

    Revit Architecture 2011

    Is it possible to create a swept mass in an in-place mass? A family won't really work in this case.

    When I start an in-place mass, I don't see any of the types of masses like in the family editor.

    Thanks,
    Rob

  2. #2
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    1,049
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: No sweep in in-place mass?

    What happens is that the methods for creating solids for masses are different than the 5 methods for creating solids. To add to the confusion, there are no icons for creating solids for masses, just the mysterious "Create form" icon. That is something a little strange about the interface.

    But, anyway, it is possible. See illustration, begin with Massing & Site > In-Place Mass. Create a reference line for the path, set the reference planes of the line as workplanes to draw the profiles, then select the reference line plus the two profiles, all together, and hit "Create form"
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by alfredo medina; 2010-07-28 at 05:19 PM.

  3. #3
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2009-03
    Posts
    77
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: No sweep in in-place mass?

    Reference lines drawn. When I select them, I see the same as your image, but how do I make them the work plane and create the profile? Attempted to use Set Workplane & pick the reference lines, butnothing seems to happen & not sure where to pick to create the profile.

    Thank you for your help,
    Rob

  4. #4
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2009-03
    Posts
    77
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: No sweep in in-place mass?

    Ok, got the ref planes, but it didn't appear to sweep very well when drawing the profile at either end. See image

    Thanks again,
    Rob
    Attached Images Attached Images

Similar Threads

  1. 2015: divided path "mass" with In-Place mass
    By tkunsman in forum Revit - Conceptual Design Tools
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2015-02-18, 06:16 PM
  2. 2013: Mass sweep is ghosted
    By Bryan Thatcher in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2013-01-11, 06:17 AM
  3. Simple sweep in in-place mass editor?
    By gsucci in forum Revit - Conceptual Design Tools
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2011-03-25, 11:53 PM
  4. Can't create an in-place sweep using the edge of a hosted sweep?
    By patricks in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2010-08-06, 01:58 PM
  5. MASS AND 3D SWEEP
    By 1956Robert in forum Inventor View - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2010-03-29, 03:00 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •