See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Thread: Getting Started with VS2010 and ACAD2011

100 Club
    Login to Give a bone

Default Getting Started with VS2010 and ACAD2011

First let me point out that I am new at VB.Net. So if any of this information is incorrect in any way, please reply so that everyone can have the correct information.

I came across a few problems while trying to use Visual Studio 2010 and AutoCAD 2011. Some of the problems were my limited knowledge of Visual Studio but others were bugs and/or communication problems. I found some of the answers to my problems hard to find and some easy. So I decided to start this post to help the people out like me who don’t know that much about Visual Studio and AutoCAD.

When I started with Visual Studio, I started out trying to use the Express version. Due to some of the l limitations for debugging, started using the Ultimate version. So if anyone can add information about the Express version that would be great.

When you start out, it is a good idea to find a good tutorial to get your feet wet. There a few “Hello World” tutorials out there. But some of them do not give you all of the information you need to connect to AutoCAD and debug it. Below are some settings that you need to make in Visual Studio after starting a new project.
    Items 1 through 3 are accessed by going in the Solution Explorer, right click on your Project Name and go to Properties.

1. You need to set the Target framework from “.NET Framework 4.0” back to “.NETFramework 3.5” because AutoCAD uses 3.5. This is located under Properties>Compile>Advanced Compile Options.

2. Now you need to set the “Start external program” to your acad.exe file. This is located under Properties>Debug. Browse to find your acad.exe file. It is usually located somewhere like “C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD 2011\acad.exe”.