Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: ATTRIBUTES W/ MULTILINE FIELD WON'T WORK WHEN INSERT INTO SHEET SET

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2010-08
    Posts
    4
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Unhappy ATTRIBUTES W/ MULTILINE FIELD WON'T WORK WHEN INSERT INTO SHEET SET

    Hello,

    I am having some trouble with getting an attribute that is a multiline field to update within my sheet set when inserted as a titleblock into a new drawing.

    I've created it using ATTDEF, checked the multiline box, and adjusted the width. When I insert it into a new drawing within a sheet set it will not update the attributed fields I created. It only works when I don't make it a multiline attribute.

    Anyone else with this problem

    I am using autocad 2011

    ,Thanx

  2. #2
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2008-03
    Posts
    383
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: ATTRIBUTES W/ MULTILINE FIELD WON'T WORK WHEN INSERT INTO SHEET SET

    I do not have an answer, I am using the later version and doesn't have any issue. I certain that multiline means Multiple Line mode in Attdef. Can you tell all the settings while making the attribute? Also, I am certain that your titleblock is a block and not an xref. And the attribute was inside the titleblock?

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2002-07
    Posts
    13
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: ATTRIBUTES W/ MULTILINE FIELD WON'T WORK WHEN INSERT INTO SHEET SET

    I've always had this problem. Multiline Attributes with a field never update on there own and Fieldeval is set to 31. You have to click in to the multiline attribute and from the right click menu chose "Update Field". Very frustrating!!!

  4. #4
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2015-10
    Location
    Central New Jersey
    Posts
    401
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: ATTRIBUTES W/ MULTILINE FIELD WON'T WORK WHEN INSERT INTO SHEET SET

    After editing the attribute in the block be sure to run ATTSYNC to synchronize any inserted block's attributes with the revised block definition.

    In the new drawing make sure that drawing doesn't already contain a block of that name. If it does, purge it from the drawing.

    Also, make sure that the drawing the attributed titleblock is being inserted into belongs to a sheet set that has that value available and the name of it matches exactly.

Similar Threads

  1. Multiline Text in a Field
    By IanR in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2014-11-13, 07:12 PM
  2. multiline attributes
    By jakob_k in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2012-02-23, 05:28 PM
  3. Multiline attributes and c3d
    By cadtag in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2010-02-18, 03:12 PM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-03-06, 05:25 PM
  5. Multiline Attributes
    By IanR in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-10-31, 05:51 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •