Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Cannot offset from alignment.

  1. #1
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2010-04
    Posts
    1
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Cannot offset from alignment.

    Hello,

    I have a wierd problem. I create an alignment, then I do the offset command and offset say 3.5m it works fine. I get a polyline, PERFECT just what I want. I then go in and put in 2 horizontal curves, each 3000m in radius with a 5m tangent between them. The curves are only about 75m long. I offset, and I get a error saying "Cannot offset that Object". What!

    So I do another test alignment. Do that same thing, draw it with 1 PI, offset, works fine. Toss in a free curve fillet (I have tried other curves, same thing) and it works fine. Offsets the alignment like a champ.

    So then I think maybe the curve is too big in my inital alignment and try to offset by 0.1 then 0.01 then 0.001. But I keep getting the same error as before. I recreate the alignment once, 2,3 times and it is the same problem. Does anyone have any idea why this is happeneing. I have never had this happen before and I have made lots of alignments with even bigger radii.

    It is really frustrating. The alignment is 4.4km long. Would that affect it? Why?


    Thanks,

  2. #2
    All AUGI, all the time brian.hailey933139's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-12
    Location
    Loveland, CO
    Posts
    734
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Cannot offset from alignment.

    Can you post the drawing?
    Brian J. Hailey PE
    CAD-1
    Civil3D PLUS My blog
    At Your Desk Training

Similar Threads

  1. 2011: label points at an offset from alignment showing stat, offset, and description
    By mw156 in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - Survey
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2016-09-29, 06:10 PM
  2. Add alignment station offset labels
    By krkeec763189 in forum Dot Net API
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2013-10-07, 09:54 AM
  3. Maintaing offset stations when the alignment changes
    By tntdraftsol in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2012-09-12, 09:35 PM
  4. Offset Alignment
    By Marco-Rome in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - Alignments
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2009-10-31, 08:39 PM
  5. Alignment with station and offset?
    By todd.80290 in forum Land Desktop - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-03-27, 11:58 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •