Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Quick answer needed. Linking Models

  1. #1
    I could stop if I wanted to Revit for Breakfast's Avatar
    Join Date
    2010-07
    Location
    Halifax, Nova Scotia
    Posts
    233
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Quick answer needed. Linking Models

    Scenario:

    someone forgot to pin the linked mechanical file and it has been discovered that the link is in the wrong spot. The exact origin is unknown by looking at the drawing.

    Do you reload in Manage links or do you use reload from to import the model to its orginal origin?
    “Enthusiasm is the most evident form of passion you can use to fire others up to do their job and apply their own characters to the job.”

    – General Rick Hillier – Canadian Chief of Defense Staff 2005-2008

  2. #2
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cliff collins's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-05
    Location
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Posts
    3,135
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Wink Re: Quick answer needed. Linking Models

    The linked models should have Shared Coordinates. This way it will be very easy to move the linked model by deleting the instance of it, then re-link and using shared location
    and it will come in perfectly at the correct location/orientation.

    Take a look here:

    http://revitclinic.typepad.com/my_we...eshooting.html

    cheers
    Last edited by cliff collins; 2010-09-27 at 02:45 PM.
    Cliff B. Collins, Registered Architect / BIM Specialist
    St. Louis, MO

  3. #3
    I could stop if I wanted to Revit for Breakfast's Avatar
    Join Date
    2010-07
    Location
    Halifax, Nova Scotia
    Posts
    233
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Unhappy Re: Quick answer needed. Linking Models

    Thanks for the advice, but after unloading / removing then reloading the links I lost all my view settings. And I had a ton of referencing views to the linked models.

    Luckly I saved a copy, but the copy has links that need to be reloaded from. What a ****** day.
    “Enthusiasm is the most evident form of passion you can use to fire others up to do their job and apply their own characters to the job.”

    – General Rick Hillier – Canadian Chief of Defense Staff 2005-2008

  4. #4
    100 Club chris.macko125036's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-10
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    133
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Quick answer needed. Linking Models

    you should be able to go to the location properties in the options for the link and just move it back to the shard coordinates if that's how it was linked in. If the mechanical file still shows the correct link locations you can add some reference planes at a known point to help you realign the models too. We make our MEP guys copy/monitor the grids in for this reason.

  5. #5
    Certifiable AUGI Addict twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-01
    Location
    ---
    Posts
    4,516
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Quick answer needed. Linking Models

    Quote Originally Posted by Revit for Breakfast View Post
    Thanks for the advice, but after unloading / removing then reloading the links I lost all my view settings. And I had a ton of referencing views to the linked models.

    Luckly I saved a copy, but the copy has links that need to be reloaded from. What a ****** day.
    Whoops, too late. was going to post that you dont ever want to "remove and relink" a linked file unless you want to undo ANY and ALl settings tied to it, including 9but not limited to): Linked Views, View template controls for VG;RVT links, Overridden Elements in views, tags for links, names of instances, etc.

  6. #6
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2004-01
    Location
    Columbus OH
    Posts
    465
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Quick answer needed. Linking Models

    Due to all the headache associated with links moving around by accident, I have gotten intto the habit of loading links on their own worksets while using an "admin" username and local file. Once the links are loaded I checkout the worksets they are on and close picking the "keep ownership/don't reliquish" option. Then I change my username back to my normal one and the only way a link can get moved is to actually change usernames and create a new local file for that admin user. I will say that it is kind of a PITA but it makes it impossible for someone to unknowingly move links.

Similar Threads

  1. 2012: Linking Models
    By snowocean in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2011-09-09, 09:51 PM
  2. Quick! need answer regarding ACAD 2012/Powerpoint
    By Globey in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2011-08-04, 02:54 PM
  3. 3D gym models needed
    By bstk in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-12-03, 06:22 PM
  4. Linking Models
    By rhinz in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-03-21, 07:17 PM
  5. Linking RS to RB models
    By tvanniekerk in forum Revit Structure - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2006-04-11, 01:04 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •