Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Hardware Revit UI and Hardware Acceleration - Maxi Vista

  1. #1
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2008-05
    Posts
    443
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Hardware Revit UI and Hardware Acceleration - Maxi Vista

    Hi Everyone,

    I have a setup where I want to use my tablet PC as a second monitor. It does wonderfully with most software. The problem is that Maxi-Vista (the software to allow another PC as a second monitor over a network) doesn't work with DirectX or Open GL hardware acceleration.

    When it's on, I loose the ribbon in Revit. AutoCAD only looses the little save, open shortcut bar at the top (in classic, not sure about the ribbon).

    Anyone use a setup like this or know anything about the Revit UI and hardware acceleration options?

  2. #2
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cliff collins's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-05
    Location
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Posts
    3,135
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Red face Re: Hardware Revit UI and Hardware Acceleration - Maxi Vista

    If it doesn't work with OpenGL or Direct3D, what DOES it work with?

    Sounds like you may be out of luck with RAC 2011 Direct 3D.

    cheers

    PS you might also see this:

    http://forums.augi.com/showthread.php?t=91418
    Cliff B. Collins, Registered Architect / BIM Specialist
    St. Louis, MO

  3. #3
    AUGI Addict iru69's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-10
    Location
    usa
    Posts
    1,591
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Hardware Revit UI and Hardware Acceleration - Maxi Vista

    Quote Originally Posted by cliff collins View Post
    If it doesn't work with OpenGL or Direct3D, what DOES it work with?
    It's not that it doesn't work with anything, it doesn't work with hardware acceleration, i.e. it's not supported on the graphics card.

    Turning on HWA in Revit attempts use of the graphics card, which if not supported results in badness.


    Quote Originally Posted by 3dway View Post
    When it's on, I loose the ribbon in Revit. AutoCAD only looses the little save, open shortcut bar at the top (in classic, not sure about the ribbon).
    Just to be clear, if you turn off HWA in Revit, everything works fine?

    Someone on a blog mentioned that they're planning on releasing a new version with DX hardware support in the near future. I have no idea whether there's truth to that or how well it will work.

Similar Threads

  1. hardware acceleration
    By alan613305 in forum AUGIuk
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2014-03-29, 12:57 PM
  2. Revit 2012 hardware [de]acceleration
    By Wes Macaulay in forum Revit - Hardware & Operating Systems
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2012-01-27, 05:38 PM
  3. OpenGL Hardware Acceleration
    By jbdesign in forum Revit - Hardware & Operating Systems
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2008-09-16, 10:41 PM
  4. Hardware Acceleration - Back on for 7???
    By christo4robin in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2004-10-27, 10:38 PM
  5. Hardware Acceleration?
    By MMccomb in forum AMEP General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2004-07-30, 04:03 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •