See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Moving a complete project up/down

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2009-01
    Posts
    43
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Moving a complete project up/down

    I have a project with construction drawings almost fully documented without knowing the datum for the levels of the project. I need to raise the building / surface / everything to make it consistent with the now confirmed datum level. The result I need is nothing more than to change the numbers in the Level Heads in elevs, sects, details, etc. In simpler CAD programs, you would simply change the numbers in the level heads on the relevant drawings. But as we all know, Revit doesn't work like that. Grabbing the Levels and objects in a section/elevation will leave a horrible mess with all the detail lines/elements/insulation in the detail drawings. Sure, I can go through each elevation, section + detail, but in that case I might as well forget about being productive or profitable...

    Does anyone know of the correct or most effective way to achieve this otherwise simple change in levels?

  2. #2
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2004-01
    Location
    Columbus OH
    Posts
    465
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Moving a complete project up/down

    Thats a job for the Relocate Project tool. Its on the manage tab under Position.

  3. #3
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2004-05
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    341
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Moving a complete project up/down

    Or just make the Level's shared, and tell it specifically what the Heights are

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    2009-01
    Posts
    43
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Moving a complete project up/down

    Thank you!

    Actually, it was a combination of both. I had to change the Elevation Base of the Level Type to Shared, then I used the Relocate Project tool in elevation. Without the "shared" elevation base, relocating the project evidently does effectively nothing.

    Obviously this is something I don't do often. Thanks again.

Similar Threads

  1. Create template from complete project
    By jcarrillo.75185 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 2017-12-22, 01:17 AM
  2. Moving Project
    By snowocean in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2012-05-09, 08:33 PM
  3. 2012: Moving Project to New Project Base Point
    By WYSIWYG-BIM in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2011-08-22, 03:07 PM
  4. Provide me with complete project & timeliner
    By carty_girl in forum NavisWorks - General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2009-02-26, 01:40 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •