Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: 64 bit AutoCAD 2009 dcl syntax error in win7 64bit server custom file are 32bit ouch

  1. #1
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2009-10
    Posts
    1
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default 64 bit AutoCAD 2009 dcl syntax error in win7 64bit server custom file are 32bit ouch

    I was doing a right click edit on some dimensions and got 2 errors first dcl not found then dcl syntax error on line 3. I was working fine until mid after noon. I was called in to help catch up on some work. I was on a work station that had win7 64bit installed and 2009 64bit. The custom menus are on a server that used 32bit because the other users are running 32bit AutoCAD 2008. Me thinks this is not how it's done. 2009 stopped recognizing where the server files where upon a save it wants to rename the files drawing1.dwg as in default. The version I was using was not authenticated/authorized. All this happened after about 5 hours of normal use. The cad manager is under pressure and needs help. He is upgrading for revit and the new work stations are 64bit and the old work stations are 43bit. I am not sure about the servers but the custom files are being used by 64bit machines and the files reside in 32bit computer.
    Last edited by jmorrow6; 2010-11-19 at 06:29 AM. Reason: I am tired and depressed lol

  2. #2
    Certifiable AUGI Addict ccowgill's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-08
    Location
    Hartford, Michigan
    Posts
    3,194
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: 64 bit AutoCAD 2009 dcl syntax error in win7 64bit server custom file are 32bit ouch

    at our office 2009 didnt like running some on 32 and some on 64 when sharing files on the network. We had to create copies of everything so that the 64 bit machines were running their own stuff. I think that problem has been mostly resolved since then, as the only folders we keep separate are the plotter folders (64 and 32 use different drivers)
    Christopher T. Cowgill, P.E.
    Autodesk Expert Elite
    AEC Collection Civil 3D 2020
    Windows 10

  3. #3
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    4,762
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: 64 bit AutoCAD 2009 dcl syntax error in win7 64bit server custom file are 32bit ouch

    If it's a server, then the 64 vs 32 bit question is meaningless, it's just sharing files and/or licenses. it sounds more like network issues -- possibly a switch or hub going bad, maybe even something as simple as a bad cable.
    Real pirates wear silk suits & ties, and write EULAs
    The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government, is big business.

    Toward a Sustainable Water Future: Visions for 2050 http://ascelibrary.org/doi/book/10.1061/9780784412077

Similar Threads

  1. 32bit MS Access import Data to 64bit Win 7 system for Revit 2009 & 2013
    By Norton_cad in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2012-09-04, 03:21 AM
  2. 64Bit Printer Drivers On A 32Bit Server . . . How-To?
    By omorah in forum CAD Management - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2011-04-11, 08:58 PM
  3. MDT 2009 on Win7 pro 64bit ?
    By BeKirra in forum Software
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2010-04-22, 04:18 AM
  4. Using DVB's for 32bit and 64bit Windows 7
    By ccaron in forum VBA/COM Interop
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2010-02-12, 11:08 PM
  5. 32bit vs. 64bit
    By fwp in forum Revit - API
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2009-12-19, 07:08 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •