Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Layer Locking

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2007-09
    Location
    Macclesfield Cheshire, England.
    Posts
    46
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Layer Locking

    Hi,
    Is there any way a layer can be locked so that nothing can be erased or drawn on that layer?
    thanks for your help.

    Maurice.

  2. #2
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2005-07
    Posts
    2,356
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Layer Locking

    Quote Originally Posted by Maurice.148748 View Post
    Hi,
    Is there any way a layer can be locked so that nothing can be erased or drawn on that layer?
    thanks for your help.

    Maurice.
    Well you can lock a layer so that nothing can be erased but you can still select the layer as current and draw entities on that layer.

    What are you trying to do? You may want to look at creating blocks or inserting x-refs instead.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2007-09
    Location
    Macclesfield Cheshire, England.
    Posts
    46
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Layer Locking

    Hi,
    Thanks for the reply. Personally, I would go down the xref route, but my client - for his own good reasons - wants one drawing containing all the elements and is looking for a way to protect certain layers against accidental modification.

    I not surprised there is not facility for this. It seems users would like a secure layer locking feature (particularly the 'smaller' user) but its not high enough on any wish list.

    Thanks for your help.

    Maurice.

  4. #4
    Administrator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,650
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Layer Locking

    Look into using either Object, or Editor Reactors (Visual LISP) for this.

    You won't be able to stop someone from deleting any objects, but the reactor can copy the entity data, and rebuild the object someone deletes seemingly instantaneously. The user, if unaware that the reactor is being used, will simply see that they cannot delete an object.

    Edit:
    Similarly, you could have your reactor set such that if any layer in your predefined layer list is unlocked, the reactor would in turn re-lock said layer. Again, seemingly instantaneously. You have several options, despite being unable to use XREFs.

    Check out the AutoLISP Programming forum for help.
    "How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

    Computer Specs:
    Dell Precision 3630, Core i9-9900K 5.0GHz, 128GB RAM, Samsung 970 Pro M.2, 8GB NVIDIA Quadro P4000

  5. #5
    Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2015-11
    Location
    Jo'burg SA
    Posts
    4,512
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Layer Locking

    Quote Originally Posted by Maurice.148748 View Post
    Hi,
    Thanks for the reply. Personally, I would go down the xref route, but my client - for his own good reasons - wants one drawing containing all the elements and is looking for a way to protect certain layers against accidental modification.

    I not surprised there is not facility for this. It seems users would like a secure layer locking feature (particularly the 'smaller' user) but its not high enough on any wish list.

    Thanks for your help.

    Maurice.
    Well, you could use blocks instead of xrefs - they do much the same thing but are contained within the single DWG. Basically it's like a bound xref.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    2007-09
    Location
    Macclesfield Cheshire, England.
    Posts
    46
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Layer Locking

    Hi,
    Thanks for all your help, I'll look into the editor reactor option.

    Maurice.

Similar Threads

  1. 2014: LOCKING
    By rstiles in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - Profiles
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2014-03-07, 05:27 PM
  2. Password Layer Locking
    By Wish List System in forum ACA Wish List
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2013-05-11, 10:34 AM
  3. Tough Question - Layer Locking (Make Layer Visible But No Pick)
    By johnshar123xx in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2008-11-27, 06:36 AM
  4. Locking a layer and password protect it
    By glicata in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2006-03-11, 03:12 PM
  5. Layer selecting and locking
    By CADMama in forum ACA General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2005-04-14, 07:26 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •