Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Undocumented System Variable Value

  1. #1
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2006-04
    Location
    (getpoint "Anywhere on the Enter Key =>")
    Posts
    1,160
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Undocumented System Variable Value

    From the Help I know that:
    DIMAUNIT = 0 -> Decimal degrees
    DIMAUNIT = 1 -> Degrees/minutes/seconds
    DIMAUNIT = 2 -> Gradians
    DIMAUNIT = 3 -> Radians
    I found that DIMAUNIT can be set to 4.
    What is the value of 4 for?

    Thanks for your help.

  2. #2
    All AUGI, all the time Richard.Kent's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-01
    Location
    Albuquerque, NM, USA
    Posts
    622
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Undocumented System Variable Value

    Quote Originally Posted by BoKirra View Post
    From the Help I know that:

    I found that DIMAUNIT can be set to 4.
    What is the value of 4 for?

    Thanks for your help.
    4 sets back to decimal degrees.

    Set it to 4, open the dimstyle manager, Primary Units tab, Angular dimensions section.

  3. #3
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2006-04
    Location
    (getpoint "Anywhere on the Enter Key =>")
    Posts
    1,160
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Undocumented System Variable Value

    Quote Originally Posted by Richard.Kent View Post
    4 sets back to decimal degrees.

    Set it to 4, open the dimstyle manager, Primary Units tab, Angular dimensions section.
    Thanks, but I get angular dimension with Degree/Minute/Second format (the format set in the original dimstyle), when
    DIMAUNIT = 4 &
    DIMADEC >= 1
    BTW, This also overrides the existing dimension style & creates an override dimstyle shown in dimstyle manager.
    Last edited by BoKirra; 2010-11-30 at 11:36 PM.

  4. #4
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2005-02
    Location
    Tasmania
    Posts
    278
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Undocumented System Variable Value

    Quote Originally Posted by BoKirra View Post
    Thanks, but I get angular dimension with Degree/Minute/Second format (the format set in the original dimstyle), when
    DIMAUNIT = 4 &
    DIMADEC >= 1
    BTW, This also overrides the existing dimension style & creates an override dimstyle shown in dimstyle manager.

    Just thinking out loud here, and this is completely untested, but is it possible that it is taking the value of 4 and treating it as the sum of a group of constants (as per the OSMODE variable) giving you units of RADIANS displayed in the Degrees/Minutes/Seconds format?

    I don't know if this is possible, and if it is doing this then I don't know why that would be possible, but it's just something that occured to me when I read through your posts.
    "Computer games don't affect kids; I mean if Pac-Man affected us as kids, we'd all be running around in darkened rooms, munching magic pills and listening to repetitive electronic music."

    - Kristin Wilson, Nintendo, Inc., 1989.

  5. #5
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Portland, OR area
    Posts
    136
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Undocumented System Variable Value

    DIMAUNIT 4 is surveyors units with NE, SE, etc. It shows as Deg/Min/Sec when dimensioning an angle. If you look at the Drawings Units, Angle Type pull down it shows the 5 types of angles.
    Nancy

    Quote Originally Posted by BoKirra View Post
    From the Help I know that:

    I found that DIMAUNIT can be set to 4.
    What is the value of 4 for?

    Thanks for your help.

Similar Threads

  1. System Variable User?
    By SRBalliet in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2008-05-02, 01:01 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-12-25, 04:06 PM
  3. HIDEPRECISION system variable
    By autocad.wishlist1734 in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2006-04-14, 04:21 PM
  4. Undocumented Cursor variable?
    By dtuttle in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2005-05-16, 04:35 PM
  5. System variable PSQUALITY
    By Phil Ferguson in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2005-01-29, 04:57 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •