Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: How can I change the space between a hatch and an island?

  1. #1
    100 Club Julesagain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    116
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default How can I change the space between a hatch and an island?

    How can I change the space between a hatch and an island (other than dragging each island border closer to its object by hand)? I have a keyplan with large letters to identify each area, and hatches for each building. The space between each letter and the hatch is larger than it needs to be, making it hard to tell when a certain building is "selected" in the keyplan. The letters are as small as they can be and still be seen on the title block. The site has over 20 buildings, so I don't want to do this by hand when surely there's a variable and I'm just not finding it.

    Does anyone know the variable to adjust this? (if that is even possible). When I try to search for a solution, all I get is the HPGAPTOL variable, and a discussion in the Obscure Commands thread (my favorite thread on AUGI!) about solids vs. hatches.

    TIA,
    Jules
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Certifiable AUGI Addict ccowgill's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-08
    Location
    Hartford, Michigan
    Posts
    3,197
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: How can I change the space between a hatch and an island?

    I dont think there is a way to control it, I believe it is based on the bounding box of the text. You could try hatching through it (ignore the text) then apply the background mask property of the text with an offset factor of 0 and see if it imitates what you are looking for.
    Christopher T. Cowgill, P.E.
    Autodesk Expert Elite
    AEC Collection Civil 3D 2020
    Windows 10

  3. #3
    100 Club Julesagain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    116
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: How can I change the space between a hatch and an island?

    Ah thanks ... dang it. Doesn't text masking cause some of the same PDF print problems as wipeout? We try to avoid any and all use of wipeouts, because our customers were having such problems printing our PDFs. I was under the impression that wipeout and test mask were basically the same thing, just that one was built into the Mtext, and one you add behind whatever object you want.

  4. #4
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    4,842
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: How can I change the space between a hatch and an island?

    wipeout/=mtextmask

    wipeouts are 1-pixel raster images that fill the area. Masking in MText is a different mechanism.
    Real pirates wear silk suits & ties, and write EULAs
    The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government, is big business.

    Toward a Sustainable Water Future: Visions for 2050 http://ascelibrary.org/doi/book/10.1061/9780784412077

  5. #5
    Certifiable AUGI Addict ccowgill's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-08
    Location
    Hartford, Michigan
    Posts
    3,197
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: How can I change the space between a hatch and an island?

    as cadtag stated, however, just to add
    wipeout = express tool text mask
    wipeout /= mtext background mask.
    background mask is a separate option in the properties palette, that you turn off or set the color (typically to background)
    Christopher T. Cowgill, P.E.
    Autodesk Expert Elite
    AEC Collection Civil 3D 2020
    Windows 10

Similar Threads

  1. Creating fill hatch with an island
    By james120479 in forum Impression - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2019-08-22, 04:22 PM
  2. 2004: When I change dimn. text size, won't change in model space.
    By lucky13gurl420508758 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2012-11-07, 06:19 PM
  3. 2011: Hatch Relative to paper space
    By jason907238 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2010-06-29, 02:52 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2010-04-01, 03:21 PM
  5. Change paper space back to model space
    By ojhicks-bhm in forum AutoCAD LT - General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2004-11-01, 02:41 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •