See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Thread: my first revit rendering, need some suggestions!

Login to Give a bone

Question my first revit rendering, need some suggestions!

I been using Revit for almost a month now. This has been a complete change for me. I am a graphic designer trying to learn Revit. Just wanted some tips and suggestions. I have yet to bring it into Photoshop (i think i may feel a little more comfortable once i get into Photoshop).Let me know what you think..This is my first rendering straight out of Revit. Thanks guys..
    Attached Images Attached Images

Login to Give a bone

Default Re: my first revit rendering, need some suggestions!

Good first try!

OK here are some tips:

1) Materials, Materials, Materials - You need to use better materials maps (particularly for your grass) Try to use photographic textures over textures built with Accurender. Try to avoid a lot of visible pattern repeating. Do a search on materials on this site and you will find many links to free texture sites. Start building your own texture library.

2) Don't use the Accurender built in sky. Try using a spherical sky.

3) Try placing the sun so that it casts longer more dramatic shadows.

4) Try a perspective from a different angle. The one you have explains the building very well but it doesn’t sell the building very well.

5) Remember the key to good composition. You need to have items in all three planes of view (foreground, middle ground and background)

6) Always try to do something to obscure the plane where the horizon and the ground meet. Place some plants there, a building, anything.

7) Another option is to keep the rendering more abstract so that you can focus on the form of the building. Try a black sky with simple grey materials.

"Rock-n-Roll Architect" SCShell's Avatar
    Login to Give a bone

Hi there,

First off, re-read everything that Scott said! (Excellent advise) In addition, try some of these ideas.