Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Copy/Monitor - What is the point?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2007-10
    Posts
    3
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Question Copy/Monitor - What is the point?

    Please corect me if i'm not understanding this correctly. I am working on a linked file in Revit MEP 2011. The architectural background file that is linked did not appear to be correct, ie. wall thicknesses and slab thicknesses. Then I realized that the copy/monitor feature has all of the architectural features set to 'generic' versions that do not accurately reflect the design building. Furthermore I had to manually overrite each one. Some I ccould change to match the original, others I could not and had to pick something close or upload the wall type from the arcitect. This feature, in my opinion, undermines the point of using Revit to begin with. If the architectural wall is 6" and the linked Revit model gives me an 8" or 10" wall to hang a fixture on, that looks bad. Any rocommendations or suggestions? What am I missing here?

  2. #2
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2005-08
    Location
    11,000 feet atop a chute
    Posts
    1,001
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Copy/Monitor - What is the point?

    I have never had the issues your describing.
    I only copy monitor the Archs Levels.
    What are you copy monitoring? How are you linking?

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2007-10
    Posts
    3
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Copy/Monitor - What is the point?

    I little bit of foot in mouth. Problem is resolved. I'm still new to the background side of Revit... linking files, etc... I used copy/monitor for the column lines and the levels only when I linked the files. The architect appearantly has modeled generic walls and plans to go back to change them to the actual existing walls (renovation project). Assuming the walls would be correct, when I saw all of the other options in the copy/monitor box I let myself get confused. Thank you for the quick response.

Similar Threads

  1. I can't get copy monitor to copy steel!
    By bwiersema in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2010-05-18, 07:53 PM
  2. Copy/Monitor
    By RSarazen in forum Revit Structure - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2009-06-23, 10:33 PM
  3. Copy / Monitor Floor Slabs - Lose Point Shaping?
    By saeborne in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2008-12-05, 10:09 PM
  4. MORE MORE MORE copy/monitor...
    By rtgis in forum Revit MEP - Wish List
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2007-06-26, 06:23 PM
  5. Copy/Monitor
    By jenniferd in forum Revit Structure - Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2007-02-28, 09:01 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •