Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: AutoCAD startup

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2007-11
    Location
    Rapid City, SD
    Posts
    5
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default AutoCAD startup

    I was wondering if there is a quicker way to open AutoCAD...

    When you start AutoCAD it defaults to a new file using a template file, then you have to close it and open the file you want o work in.

    Is there a way to make AutoCAD not do this and open the "OPEN" dialogue box instead?

    just something i was thinking aobut to save some time.

  2. #2
    Mod / Salary / SM Wanderer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    5,319
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD startup

    Quote Originally Posted by sdeyo View Post
    I was wondering if there is a quicker way to open AutoCAD...

    When you start AutoCAD it defaults to a new file using a template file, then you have to close it and open the file you want o work in.

    Is there a way to make AutoCAD not do this and open the "OPEN" dialogue box instead?

    just something i was thinking aobut to save some time.
    No, there isn't.

    I tend to open mine from Explorer.


    (see also thread "Open drawing upon start-up instead of drawing1" - http://forums.augi.com/showthread.php?t=4016 )

    Cheers!
    Melanie Stone
    @MistresDorkness

    ARCHIBUS, FMS/FMInteract and AutoCAD Expert (I use Revit and Tririga, too)
    Technical Editor
    not all those who wander are lost

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2007-11
    Location
    Rapid City, SD
    Posts
    5
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD startup

    thanks. i figured that was the case. i was hoping for something like Revit.

  4. #4
    Mod / Salary / SM Wanderer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    5,319
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Thumbs up Re: AutoCAD startup

    Quote Originally Posted by sdeyo View Post
    thanks. i figured that was the case. i was hoping for something like Revit.
    No problem. It does seem a bit odd that they've got variables that will control just about everything under the sun in AutoCAD, but, that we can't control that. ~shrug~
    Melanie Stone
    @MistresDorkness

    ARCHIBUS, FMS/FMInteract and AutoCAD Expert (I use Revit and Tririga, too)
    Technical Editor
    not all those who wander are lost

  5. #5
    Super Moderator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,746
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD startup

    Quote Originally Posted by sdeyo View Post
    I was wondering if there is a quicker way to open AutoCAD...

    When you start AutoCAD it defaults to a new file using a template file, then you have to close it and open the file you want o work in.
    Actually, as soon as you open an existing drawing, the "drawing1.dwg" will close, as long as no changes were made to it - so you will end up with only one drawing open.

    Quote Originally Posted by sdeyo
    Is there a way to make AutoCAD not do this and open the "OPEN" dialogue box instead?
    Yes, set the system variable STARTUP to 1
    In 2012, you can set STARTUP to 2 to start with no template, but the OPEN dialog will not show up automatically.
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    2007-11
    Location
    Rapid City, SD
    Posts
    5
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD startup

    that is what i was looking for, STARTUP.

    thanks

Similar Threads

  1. How can I make a startUp Exe for Startup AutoCAD
    By 740176597380946 in forum ARX
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2013-05-24, 05:36 AM
  2. 2012: AutoCAD Warning at Startup
    By heinsite in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2012-12-26, 08:01 PM
  3. AutoCAD Startup
    By EddieS in forum Dot Net API
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2011-07-18, 05:50 AM
  4. AutoCAD 2012 and S::STARTUP
    By rbt in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2011-06-22, 04:27 PM
  5. Run a command at AutoCAD LT Startup
    By Inferno6919 in forum AutoCAD LT - General
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 2006-11-23, 10:29 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •