Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Why is AutoCAD Electrical looking for Civil 3D object enablers?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2011-05
    Posts
    2
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Why is AutoCAD Electrical looking for Civil 3D object enablers?

    - I posted this in the AutoCAD Electrical forum first, but no one responded -

    I am using AutoCAD Electrical 2011, and every time I open a drawing created from one of my work's templates I get the following message:

    The drawing you have opened or referenced contains custom objects created by an unavailable ObjectARX application. You do not need the original applicationto display proxy representations of objects that were saved in the drawing. However many manufacturers, including Autodesk provide object enablers that alsoallow you to edit these custom objects.

    Visit the AutoCAD Object Enabler Assistant web page to locate Autodesk object enablers or contact the software publisher about object enablers for other applications.

    Note: If your computer has internet access verify that Check Web for Live Enablers is selected in the Options dialog box on the System tab to have AutoCAD automatically search the Live Enabler website for the appropriate object enabler. {I TRIED THIS}

    Missing Application: AeccvBase 80
    Product Desc: AutoCAD Civil 3D
    Company: Autodesk, Inc.
    WEB Address:
    Total Number of Proxies: 2
    Number of objects (no graphics): 2
    Number of entries with no graphics: 0
    Number of entities with bounding box graphics: 0
    Number of entities with real graphics metafile: 0

    Missing Application: AeccLand80
    Product Desc: AutoCAD Civil 3D
    Company: Autodesk, Inc.
    WEB Address:
    Total Number of Proxies: 283
    Number of objects (no graphics): 283
    Number of entries with no graphics: 0
    Number of entities with bounding box graphics: 0
    Number of entities with real graphics metafile: 0

    Missing Application: AeccBuildingSite80
    Product Desc: AutoCAD Civil 3D
    Company: Autodesk, Inc.
    WEB Address:
    Total Number of Proxies: 2
    Number of objects (no graphics): 2
    Number of entries with no graphics: 0
    Number of entities with bounding box graphics: 0
    Number of entities with real graphics metafile: 0

    Missing Application: AeccPlanProd80
    Product Desc: AutoCAD Civil 3D
    Company: Autodesk, Inc.
    WEB Address:
    Total Number of Proxies: 4
    Number of objects (no graphics): 4
    Number of entries with no graphics: 0
    Number of entities with bounding box graphics: 0
    Number of entities with real graphics metafile: 0

    Proxy Graphics:
    - Do not show proxy graphics
    - Show proxy graphics
    - Show proxy bounding box

    It doesn't seem to make any difference which option I choose, so I just don't chose any and click OK, and the drawing seems fine, but having to click ok for every drawing is really getting annoying, especially when opening in batches. The Civil department at my work does use Civil 3D, and I have opened one of their drawings in "vanilla" AutoCAD 2011 but never in AutoCAD Electrical.

    Do I really have to go locate these Civil 3D enablers? I would rather try to remove whatever is looking for them.

    I did try just opening an AutoCAD electrical template, saving it, and re-opening it. Then, I did NOT get this message. So it's something to do with our office's templates.

    Thanks for any help you can offer.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,741
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Why is AutoCAD Electrical looking for Civil 3D object enablers?

    Can you post (or email to me) the template drawing in question?
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

  3. #3
    100 Club indydrafter's Avatar
    Join Date
    2007-04
    Location
    Mishawaka (South Bend), Indiana
    Posts
    119
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Why is AutoCAD Electrical looking for Civil 3D object enablers?

    Sounds to me like your Civil department created your template in Civil 3D and may have a few AECC Civil 3D objects created in the file (possibly deleted, but not purged completely out. ie. utilizing the "-PURGE" > RegApps option). The object enablers are always nice to have when working in a collaborative environment where you might be passing files back and forth with the Civil department from time to time. You can find, download, and install them pretty quickly and easily from here: http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet...linkID=9240698

    That URL changes regularly on Autodesk's behalf, but if you google "AutoCAD Civil 3D object enablers" you shouldn't have a problem finding them.

    I would normally never condone having multiple versions of a company template (too much room for discontinuity), but a different template for each discipline/department is warranted. Once you've got a clean, error-free version of the template, I would suggest performing a Save-As and renaming it for your department's use (after thoughtful deliberation with your CAD Manager, of course!).
    Senior Engineering Technician & BIM Manager | Lawson-Fisher Associates

    Twitter: twitter.com/bryanjtanner
    Linkedin: linkedin.com/in/bryantanner
    Company Blog: lawson-fisher.com

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2014-10-02, 04:55 PM
  2. 2004: Object Enablers - aeccland for AutoCAD 2004
    By larry.lesser534497 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2014-02-04, 08:35 PM
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2012-04-09, 09:47 PM
  4. AutoCAD Electrical 2011 looking for Civil 3D Object Enablers
    By leah.aston977850 in forum AutoCAD Electrical - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2011-07-29, 01:27 PM
  5. Object Enablers not working with AutoCAD 2009
    By marcusnewport in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-02-23, 11:18 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •