Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: autocad pc configuration

  1. #1
    Member george11largat's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-10
    Location
    athens,Hellas
    Posts
    4
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default autocad pc configuration

    Hi, i work in a metallic formwork company and we are preparing some VBA-Lisp menus for us to calculate and draw 3D drawings for columns-walls etc formworks. This means we have extremely highest demands from pc hardware for just 2D drawings.
    1)-Which do you think is the best configuration for our work (formwork rendering ,large surfaces, hundrends objects..) ?
    2) Regarding that we need large amoung of RAM(high Ramdac also), fast Hard drive, fast processor and best PCI vga is the following system configuration possible to correspond our demands?

    -m/b : asus P5AD2 deluxe
    -cpu : P4 540
    -HD : western digital 74 GB sata 10000 kpm
    -PCI : albatron trinity geforce 660xt or better
    -Ram: 1 GB dimm ddr-2 533 MHz

    (approx,cost in greece ~1100 € )


    Thanks in advance for your help

    Largkatzis giorgos
    www.civilengin.com

  2. #2
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    2,337
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: autocad pc configuration

    Add another hard drive for your Swap file
    and another GB of RAM and I would even like to drive
    that CAD-machine around the block.

    I would use a Quadro video card personally,

  3. #3
    Member george11largat's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-10
    Location
    athens,Hellas
    Posts
    4
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: autocad pc configuration

    Quote Originally Posted by mjfarrell
    ....Add another hard drive for your Swap file....


    . Quadro video card .
    good morning, please could you give me more info about the role of swap file in autocad and Quadro video card ???

  4. #4
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    2,337
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: autocad pc configuration

    A basic windows performance ttuning trick is to seperate
    the Operating System from the swap file location

    Your PC will thank you.

    Windows uses a swap file as virtual memory. In short, when the PC doesn’t have quite enough memory to do what it needs to do, it starts using the hard drive as fake memory, or virtual memory. This files that it uses for this temporary storage is called the swap file. It is called WIN386.SWP. Naturally, the hard drive is a lot slower than the system RAM due to it’s mechanical nature, so the better optimized you have the swap file, the less time the PC will have to take to use it’s virtual memory. It is best to have the swap file located on a fast, uncluttered hard drive. If you have two hard drives in your system, it is best to find the one that is fastest and locate the swap file onto it. If you have one hard drive, use PartitionMagic or some other similar program to set off a different partition on your hard drive to be used for the swap file. If the swap file is located in it’s own partition, then you won’t have to worry about fragmentation of your data by constant jiggling of your data. You can alter the swap file settings by going to Control Panel / System Properties / Performance / Virtual Memory. You can specify the size of your swap file as well as where it is located. Default is to let Windows manage virtual memory. If you change anything, Windows will give you a cryptic warning, but it is OK to hit OK and reboot to try it. Just don’t make the swap file too small.

    The above is a brief discription of the process.
    The video card I spoke of is any of the nVidia based
    workstation (Quadro) based video cards.

Similar Threads

  1. MA305-3: AutoCAD® Mechanical Standards: Configuration and Use
    By Autodesk University in forum Manufacturing
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2013-05-06, 01:22 AM
  2. AutoCAD/Archibus Configuration
    By IanR in forum Facilities Management In Practice
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2011-11-29, 04:45 AM
  3. Remote AutoCAD Configuration
    By H.Hunter in forum CAD Management - General
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 2008-02-01, 01:56 PM
  4. Tablet Configuration in AutoCAD 2007
    By kcover in forum AutoCAD CUI Menus
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2006-06-13, 06:41 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •