View Poll Results: I'd like to over-ride a wall style to add a component layer

Voters
16. You may not vote on this poll
  • In Favor

    5 31.25%
  • Not in Favor

    9 56.25%
  • Not sure

    2 12.50%
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 15 of 15

Thread: Interesting idea: adding wall layers

  1. #11
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2004-02
    Posts
    82

    Default Re: Interesting idea: adding wall layers

    Would it solve some of what you are wishing for if you were able to push and pull layers of a wall in plan similarly to how you can push and pull wall layers in section? For example you have a wall that is made up of gyp/stud/plywood/brick, at the end of that wall you could grab just the layer of brick and pull it beyond the end of the gyp/stud/plywood.

    This could also be a solution to the wall join problem that in my mind has always been a pain, when you have many layers on a particular wall it doesn't always join how you want at the corners or intersections.

    Or, what if you could somehow use the "split face" and "edit cut profile" tools in tandem edit a wall. Say for instance, in the example above, I wanted to cut away just the brick in one area, leaving the backup wall, to insert a book shelf. But to make things difficult, in plan one side of this cutout in the brick, the ends of the brick are rounded into the opening...

    This would also allow you to have a long run of, say gyp/stud/gyp wall, that somewhere in the middle you have a cavity wall that springs off of this, well you wouldn't need to split the wall and create a new wall type, you can just trim off the gyp board inside the cavity.

  2. #12
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2004-02
    Posts
    82

    Default Re: Interesting idea: adding wall layers

    ...and while we're on the subject of the materials of walls...why the heck is the wrapping of them not controlled at an instance level? I always wind up with 3 different families of what is basically the same wall, all of them having their wrapping setting different to fill a particular need.

  3. #13
    I could stop if I wanted to Tom Dorner's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-11
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    371

    Default Re: Interesting idea: adding wall layers

    Just keep in mind that wishing for things like the ability to make a different "type" of wall by adding a layer without creating a new Revit walltype has many dangers when it comes to full implementation of BIM. I alway tell everyone that will listen that you always need to keep in mind how your ODBC export will look and how estimating programs like Timberline will work with your Revit building database.

    Even if you presently do not export your Revit database to Timberline, I think it is good practice to think in estimating terms as in my opinion it is the future if not the present.

    Tom

  4. #14
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2015-10
    Posts
    79

    Default Re: Interesting idea: adding wall layers

    I know my answer years late, and unsure how many use AUGI anymore. This is an idea to resolve the extra layer required without editing the base wall type. Create a wall type with just this layer. So if you require just an extra piece of plasterboard, create a wall type called plasterboard and align back face to front face of base wall, tweak end to suit

  5. #15
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2015-08
    Posts
    180

    Default Re: Interesting idea: adding wall layers

    Quote Originally Posted by wrmarshall View Post
    I know my answer years late, and unsure how many use AUGI anymore. This is an idea to resolve the extra layer required without editing the base wall type. Create a wall type with just this layer. So if you require just an extra piece of plasterboard, create a wall type called plasterboard and align back face to front face of base wall, tweak end to suit
    Someone did mention that earlier in the string and I agree with this solution. One way to make it better would be to allow the wall layer to not be a core layer. Currently a wall has to consist of at least one core layer which causes issues joining to the proper layers of the existing wall types.
    It would be nice to have an additional wall category call Finish Walls in addition to the existing Basic Wall, Curatin Wall and Stacked Wall that allows you to make walls consisting of only finish and thermal layers.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. Adding Suffix to All Layers
    By ReachAndre in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 2016-01-11, 06:07 PM
  2. Adding AIA layers to template dwg
    By MRV in forum ACA General
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2009-10-13, 02:35 PM
  3. Adding Layers From another Drawing
    By CadDog in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2006-03-24, 05:06 PM
  4. Dimensions change when adding wall layers
    By jvoight in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 2005-03-03, 07:30 PM
  5. Interesting Wall Situation
    By Clyne Curtis in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2004-07-30, 03:26 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •