View Poll Results: I'd like to over-ride a wall style to add a component layer

Voters
16. You may not vote on this poll
  • In Favor

    5 31.25%
  • Not in Favor

    9 56.25%
  • Not sure

    2 12.50%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Interesting idea: adding wall layers

  1. #1
    Certified AUGI Addict patricks's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    Memphis TN area
    Posts
    7,047

    Default Interesting idea: adding wall layers

    It would be nice to be able to add an extra layer of material to a wall type already defined, so you don't have to create a whole new wall type if you just need it in one particular area. For example, you might add a layer of gyp board to wall that's already in the model w/o having to create a new wall type.

    This would be useful on some of my projects where I might have a 2-hour wall around a stairwell, w/ 2 layers of gyp board on both sides, and then I have another non-rated wall butting up to the ends of one of the 2-hour walls. To simplify construction the stud layers need to align, and then I could just add an extra layer of gyp board to that non-rated wall to make the finish faces align, without having to make a whole new wall type just for that one instance.

  2. #2
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2003-04
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,577

    Thumbs up Re: Interesting idea: adding wall layers

    Excellent idea, Have had similar thoughts myself. Add a poll to this one so we can vote for it.

  3. #3
    Revit Forum Manager Steve_Stafford's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    7,567

    Default Re: Interesting idea: adding wall layers

    As a way to quickly create a new wall style maybe, but not over-rides for wall styles. That could quickly create havoc. Imagine trying to troubleshoot an issue and having to also determine if it's a real wall style or one with over-rides.

    It really is simple to create a new wall style, particularly one that is based on another. Just my take...

  4. #4
    AUGI Addict sfaust's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-01
    Location
    Littleton, CO (Denver Metro)
    Posts
    1,535

    Default Re: Interesting idea: adding wall layers

    I agree. Too easy to create confusion this way. I would rather just duplicate the wall style.

  5. #5
    Certified AUGI Addict patricks's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    Memphis TN area
    Posts
    7,047

    Default Re: Interesting idea: adding wall layers

    Well in my mind the applied layer(s) wouldn't actually be part of the wall, but just surface-applied. It would be kind of like an applied sweep, in that it exists as its own object but is hosted by the wall. An applied wall layer would be its own object but would be hosted by the wall, and move or change with the wall if the wall changes position, profile, etc.

  6. #6
    Revit Mararishi aaronrumple's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-02
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    4,695

    Default Re: Interesting idea: adding wall layers

    What we need is user editable system families and user editable family parameters...

    Lets say I have an 8" CMU wall. Then one with base trim shown as a sweep. Then another with a chair rail. Each of these is listed as:
    Basic Wall: Type A
    Basic Wall: Type B
    Basic Wall: Type C

    In my legends and schedules I just want to list them all as Type A.

    So after creating Basic Wall Type A, it would be great to have children of that wall type.
    Basic Wall: Type A
    Basic Wall: Type A: With Base
    Basic Wall: Type A : With Chair Rail

    Of course changing A would change the children.

    This is more important with doors and windows. 30"x40" isn't a type for our office. Double-hung window is a type. I need to add a type mark at the Family level - not the type level. Having to go in and add "duplicate" type marks to all the different sizes is very un-Revit like.

  7. #7
    I could stop if I wanted to David Conant's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Milton MA
    Posts
    286

    Default Re: Interesting idea: adding wall layers

    You can include a label in your window tag that shows Family Name. Use that and the Type Name label to get a tag that reports things like:

    Double Hung
    30" x 42"

  8. #8
    Revit Technical Specialist - Autodesk Scott D Davis's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-04
    Location
    Chino, CA
    Posts
    4,756

    Default Re: Interesting idea: adding wall layers

    Aaron,

    I like your idea of 'child' wall types.

    We have all of our wall types by letters, with options in each wall type. For instance:

    Wall Type A - Wood Stud, Gyp Both Sides
    • 4"
      • Rated
        • Insulated
        • Non-insulated
      • Non-Rated
        • Insulated
        • Non-insulated

    • 6"
      • Rated
        • Insulated
        • Non-insulated
      • Non-Rated
        • Insulated
        • Non-insulated

    • 8"
      • Rated
        • Insulated
        • Non-insulated
      • Non-Rated
        • Insulated
        • Non-insulated

    To create this one wall type currently in Revit creates 12 wall Types for Type A, alone! We have Wall Types up to ZZZ! That's almost 100 types, times 12 options for each Type, 1200 items in my Walls drop down list if they are all loaded!

  9. #9
    Revit Mararishi aaronrumple's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-02
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    4,695

    Default Re: Interesting idea: adding wall layers

    Quote Originally Posted by David Conant
    You can include a label in your window tag that shows Family Name. Use that and the Type Name label to get a tag that reports things like:

    Double Hung
    30" x 42"
    ... but that means on the pull down the user sees "A", "B" etc... "A" in this project is a double-hung - in that project it is a casement. Each project has a different "A", "B". So I need to name the family double-hung so users can find it on the server, but need it tagged A. This would be fine (or not so bad) if I could load the doublehung.rfa and then rename the family A in the browser. But can't do that.

  10. #10
    AUGI Addict PeterJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-04
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    1,948

    Default Re: Interesting idea: adding wall layers

    Back to the topic in hand....if we have adding wall layers as an option it needs to be phase controlled. This would be fantastically useful in refurb work where we might dryline an existing wall with plasterboard or thermal board. I find creating a second skin only wall a little clunky in this sort of instance.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Adding Suffix to All Layers
    By ReachAndre in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 2016-01-11, 06:07 PM
  2. Adding AIA layers to template dwg
    By MRV in forum ACA General
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2009-10-13, 02:35 PM
  3. Adding Layers From another Drawing
    By CadDog in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2006-03-24, 05:06 PM
  4. Dimensions change when adding wall layers
    By jvoight in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 2005-03-03, 07:30 PM
  5. Interesting Wall Situation
    By Clyne Curtis in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2004-07-30, 03:26 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •