Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Revolve in family

  1. #1
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2011-07
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    55
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Revolve in family

    Hi all,

    In a family I can't use revolve command optimally, because I have "set workplane" problems....

    I draw a circle on the Ref. level and then I want to draw a profile around my circle. That profile has to be drawn vertically, because my circle is drawn horizontally...

    The problem is: I cant draw my profile around my circle after I first have drawn a circle. I'm not in a mass, but in a family.

    Someone?

    Thanks in advance,

    Sefa

  2. #2
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2011-07
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    55
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revolve in family

    Update:

    I want to change my work plane, but I can''t click on my created reference planes or other drawings which are drawn in a right view which I could use...

  3. #3
    Certifiable AUGI Addict Dimitri Harvalias's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    Vancouver, BC Canada
    Posts
    3,753
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revolve in family

    Place your reference plane in your plan view as you have done. The trick is you must give that ref plane a name in order for it to be selectable as a work plane.
    Once it has a name you can open a view parallel to the ref plane and Revit will prompt you to select a workplane to draw your profile.

  4. #4
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2011-07
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    55
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revolve in family

    Hi,

    I also did give the plane a name, but it didn't work after that. But, if you say so, I will try till I get results. I will post again.

    Thanks

  5. #5
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2011-07
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    55
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revolve in family

    Hi,

    It didn't work...

    What did I do?

    - started a new family
    - furniture template
    - 2 new workplane with names added
    - drawn circle in floor plan
    - > set work plane > no planes to choose.. accept floor plan, but I AM in floor plan...

    What to do next?

  6. #6
    Certifiable AUGI Addict Dimitri Harvalias's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    Vancouver, BC Canada
    Posts
    3,753
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revolve in family

    I reread your first post... are you trying to create a 'revolve' or trying to sweep a profile along a circular path?
    If you want to sweep the profile along the circle

    Choose 'sweep' as the form you want to create
    Draw your circle as your path
    The circle should have its own reference plane on it where you can draw your profile
    Draw your profile and finish your sweep

    If I'm still misinterpreting what you are after please post an image of the form you are trying to create.

  7. #7
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2011-07
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    55
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revolve in family

    Hi Dimitri,

    As a matter of fact, i wanted to draw a ball in my family, with REVOLVE..... That was wrong. Indeed, I have to sweep to draw a ball or a shape along a path....

    Sorry for that, but now I know that I have to use sweep in stead of revolve. So I tried it with sweep and it works! But the problem is, that I still can't draw a object that I want to....

    I'm trying to draw a 3D ball with sweep, but It gives me an error With mass I can do that, but not with family...

    See attachment. ( I draw another thing for example in my attachment)

    Could you help me out of this!?

    Thanks,

    Sefa
    Attached Files Attached Files

  8. #8
    AUGI Addict jsteinhauer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-11
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    1,317
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Lightbulb Re: Revolve in family

    Quote Originally Posted by sefaarslan88566806 View Post
    Hi Dimitri,

    As a matter of fact, i wanted to draw a ball in my family, with REVOLVE..... That was wrong. Indeed, I have to sweep to draw a ball or a shape along a path....

    Sorry for that, but now I know that I have to use sweep in stead of revolve. So I tried it with sweep and it works! But the problem is, that I still can't draw a object that I want to....

    I'm trying to draw a 3D ball with sweep, but It gives me an error With mass I can do that, but not with family...

    See attachment. ( I draw another thing for example in my attachment)

    Could you help me out of this!?

    Thanks,

    Sefa
    I am not fully understanding what you're trying to do. But, I downloaded your family and I was able to place a sphere using revolve pretty easily. The steps I used are below. If these steps are not helpful, please post an image of what you're trying to create.

    Go to an elevation view (front, back, right or left)
    start a revolve
    place the axis
    then draw 1/2 of the profile of the sphere
    set constraints as required
    finish revolve
    flex constraints to test family
    if issues arise, correct them
    save and close family

    I hope this helps,
    Jeff S.
    'When I am working on a problem, I never think about beauty but when I have finished, if the solution is not beautiful, I know it is wrong.' - R. Buckminster Fuller

  9. #9
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2011-07
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    55
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revolve in family

    Hi,

    The problem was: I couldn't draw a ball/sphere with sweep.

    After your comment I did try with revolve and yes it worked
    But I still want to know if it is also drawable with sweep...

    Thank you for helping me

    Sefa

  10. #10
    Certifiable AUGI Addict Dimitri Harvalias's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    Vancouver, BC Canada
    Posts
    3,753
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revolve in family

    In theory I think you could create a sphere with a sweep. The problem is you would not be able to have it 'closed' at the top and bottom. If you created the path as the line of the circumference (the 'equator' of the sphere) and the sketch for the profile was the surface of the sphere you would get self-intersecting geometry if you tried to completely close the sketch on the sweep.
    Does that make sense?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. 2015: Help Rotating a revolve in a family
    By lrfinnegan in forum Revit MEP - Families
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2015-09-15, 09:34 AM
  2. Creating Family - Revolve Command - Problem
    By marcio743031 in forum Revit Architecture - Families
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2011-05-13, 02:53 PM
  3. Edit a revolve
    By MikeJarosz in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2010-08-31, 01:10 PM
  4. revolve around an extruded ellipse
    By sphinxios in forum AutoCAD 3D (2006 or below)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-07-17, 11:00 PM
  5. Circular Revolve
    By cheukling125525.110216 in forum Revit Structure - Families
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2007-05-31, 04:31 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •