Thread: ACA Custom objects/tagging/scheduling

Login to Give a bone

Default ACA Custom objects/tagging/scheduling

Ok, I am really new to ACA coming from Revit and have used std autoCAD for a few years prior.
    I am trying to find out how to create a schedule for custom parts modeled within a project. For example..... If I create a model of a galvanized Hurricane clip fastener, a 3d solid, I would like to have a schedule that keeps track of how many of these are being used in the model just like I would with doors and windows.

I am also considering creating AEC objects of these objects and adding them to the AEC catalog and then having the ability to ad them in as needed for future projects and having a schedule for tracking sizes and quantities of these items. I am not sure if this is the best way to go about it?

Any help in these regards will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Login to Give a bone

Default Re: ACA Custom objects/tagging/scheduling

You will want to learn about Property Sets, which are the central item of the Scheduling feature in ACA. While you probably could schedule the 3D Solid directly, you would have to use all object-based properties/Property Set(s). That may work, depending upon your needs, but you may also want to consider creating a Multi-View Block as the main content item. (You can still use the 3D Solid, if you want, in a view block that displays in non-orthogonal views.)

As someone completely new to scheduling in ACA, you may find some of the resources listed in this blog article, of interest, particularly the ATP courses. Many of the items go back a few years, and the instructions will be based on the pre-ribbon interface, but the Schedule feature has not changed much since the 2007 release, so the information should still be good:
    http://architects-desktop.blogspot.c...resources.html