Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: newbie needs layering help

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2011-09
    Posts
    9
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default newbie needs layering help

    I am very new to this. I contacted my county agencies and received several county road maps with data in .shp files. I used map insert to bring in the files and attached the data to the maps when brought in. I have sucessfully placed the road maps on the workspace. I used annotation editor to set up annotation tables, selected the data from the converted .shp files place road names on one layer and road addresses on another layer. I sucessfully placed these on the workspace in the correct locations with the roads. Now, here's the issue. I have over a dozen counties I am working with. This has created close to 30 or so layers (road name and road address by county). I want to simplify the map by combining all the road name layers into a single layer for all counties and the same with road addresses. Somehow these layers are associated with layer 0 and I cant do a layer merge. Since I created the attribute (data)tables for the annotations under a single annotation table name, I cant break them apart by having a annotation table name for each set of road name and road address. I need to have the road names and addresses in different layers. So how do I separate out? I may not be clear on this and may need to provide more information.

  2. #2
    Geospatial Moderator Jmurphy's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    TN/KY Area
    Posts
    1,640
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: newbie needs layering help

    Can you attach part of one of your dwgs? I'll take a look but sounds like you just need to edit the anno blocks to use the correct layers.
    J. Murphy
    AKA
    Murph
    The former AutoCAD MAP3D Power User

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-11
    Posts
    12
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: newbie needs layering help

    Go to your layer tool bar and merge layers.

  4. #4
    Geospatial Moderator Jmurphy's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    TN/KY Area
    Posts
    1,640
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: newbie needs layering help

    Quote Originally Posted by rmccue View Post
    Go to your layer tool bar and merge layers.
    You missed this in the original post "and I cant do a layer merge."
    J. Murphy
    AKA
    Murph
    The former AutoCAD MAP3D Power User

Similar Threads

  1. 2012: Layering Question
    By Jeversole in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 2012-02-22, 04:57 PM
  2. AIA Layering
    By ckenwyn in forum CAD Standards
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2008-06-17, 09:55 PM
  3. Need layering for NCS
    By eldridge in forum CAD Standards
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2008-05-06, 03:24 PM
  4. Auto Layering
    By kahnyad in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2005-11-08, 06:00 PM
  5. Group layering
    By kschu in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2004-09-18, 05:45 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •