Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Inserting a multiple page Microsoft Word document

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2004-11
    Posts
    7
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Question Inserting a multiple page Microsoft Word document

    Is their an easy way to insert a multiple page Microsoft Word document? I tried inserting it as an OLE object, but it only inserts the 1st page. I would like to be able to insert all pages of a Word document and still be able to edit and modify it.

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator david_peterson's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-09
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    5,685
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Inserting a multiple page Microsoft Word document

    try coping the file and do a save as .rtf file for rich text format.
    you can then drag the file right on to you Acad screen and you will have you basic acad text.

  3. #3
    Time Lord Steve_Bennett's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    far, far, far away...
    Posts
    4,730
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Inserting a multiple page Microsoft Word document

    Try this: Save your word doc to an RTF like David said. Then create an MText box, right click in the text portion of the box you created & select import text. Find the file you saved as a .rtf & you should have it come in.
    Steve Bennett |BIM Manager
    Taylor Design | Adventures in BIM

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    2004-11
    Posts
    7
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Inserting a multiple page Microsoft Word document

    If I save as a .rtf file and drag it in, I only see the 1st page. If I save as a .rtf and import to an mtext box, I get an error message that says document does not only contain text. Any more ideas??

    Thanks

  5. #5
    Time Lord Steve_Bennett's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    far, far, far away...
    Posts
    4,730
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Inserting a multiple page Microsoft Word document

    Quote Originally Posted by eric.stevens
    If I save as a .rtf file and drag it in, I only see the 1st page. If I save as a .rtf and import to an mtext box, I get an error message that says document does not only contain text. Any more ideas??

    Thanks
    In the import box, did you select rt format at the bottom?

    If that wasn't it, try saving your doc as a txt format & then import that.
    Steve Bennett |BIM Manager
    Taylor Design | Adventures in BIM

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    2004-12
    Posts
    34
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Inserting a multiple page Microsoft Word document

    I've had this problem too.

    If you change it to a .txt file, you will lose the formating...

    There's got to be an easier way or should this go on the "Wish List"?

  7. #7
    Super Moderator david_peterson's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-09
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    5,685
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Inserting a multiple page Microsoft Word document

    Just like most things in acad, the more you try to do with them, the more you find out it doesn't always work.
    There is a 3rd party app call something like "word to cad" on dotsoft's website.
    It'll cost you like $80.00.

  8. #8
    Time Lord Steve_Bennett's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    far, far, far away...
    Posts
    4,730
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Inserting a multiple page Microsoft Word document

    You can also try selecting all your text in word, copy it to the windows clipboard (ctrl+C) & pasting it into an MText box.
    Steve Bennett |BIM Manager
    Taylor Design | Adventures in BIM

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    2004-11
    Posts
    7
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Inserting a multiple page Microsoft Word document

    It worked by selecting all the text in word and pasting it into an Mtext box. It retained all the formatting and did not have the annoying white background when you insert it as an OLE object. It would be nice though if you could have it linked to the actual document so when you edit it in either application (CAD, Word) it would update the other.

    Eric Stevens

  10. #10
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2011-05
    Posts
    926
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Inserting a multiple page Microsoft Word document

    The easiest way to import text into ACAD is to save the WORD document as either *.txt or *.rtf. Then, create an Mtext box on the screen and right-click inside the box. Drill down to "Import Text", then browse to the document. The *.rtf documents will retain formatting. However, there is still no link between the two.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Insert multi page word document
    By Bryan Thatcher in forum ACA General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2010-04-29, 12:56 PM
  2. Insert a Word document multi page OLE?
    By marco.masutti in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2006-12-12, 05:38 AM
  3. Inserting multiple Word Pages into CAD
    By Rico in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 2006-11-07, 05:53 PM
  4. Using a DWG in a Microsoft Word document
    By drafting_specialist96337 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2006-08-25, 12:16 AM
  5. OLE Word document appearing in multiple layouts
    By monty.99416 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-03-03, 02:03 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •