Thread: Dynamic Blocks, Visibility at various drawing scales

Login to Give a bone

Default Dynamic Blocks, Visibility at various drawing scales

Hi all,
    I was wondering if it is possible to create a dynamic block with 2 visibility states that could display two levels of detail -akin to showing less info at a small scale, and more info at a larger scale - depending on the intent of the drawing (i.e. viewport).

I have a window sash block for use in 1/4" plans that shows only basic size and shape of the sash. But, I want to XREF the plan into another drawing to use for creation of 3" jamb details. the block was created to have visibility states, but so far it is only useful if I insert the block into each file independently. I also understand that using different layers is an optional way to deal with this situation, but I am looking for a way to make use visibility states features.

I have been using Revit for several years, and have gotten used to the idea that I can display different information depending on what level of detail that I set a view to display, or even to hide information until a specific scale range has been activated (i.e. will not display at scales smaller than 1-1/2"=1'-0").

I am using ACAD LT 2011. Has ACAD implemented this type of working yet? Any input would be appreciated - however, I do not want to go into comparing programs in this thread. thanks.

Login to Give a bone

Default Re: Dynamic Blocks, Visibility at various drawing scales

Quote Originally Posted by mmiles View Post
    Hi all,
    I was wondering if it is possible to create a dynamic block with 2 visibility states that could display two levels of detail -akin to showing less info at a small scale, and more info at a larger scale - depending on the intent of the drawing (i.e. viewport).