Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Copying, Moving, etc. outside the horizontal Plane

  1. #1
    I could stop if I wanted to Merlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-05
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    405
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Question Copying, Moving, Arraying outside the horizontal Plane

    Could someone let me know what the tricks are to doing these basics?....I'm used to copying/moving in 3D in AutoCAD (...that's probably my problem i.e. trying to think of things from the AutoCAD point of view..) yet I have difficulty in achieving this in REVIT....I've been experimenting with copy/move of some mass objects which is fine on a horizontal plane BUT not vertically (or away from the horizontal X,Y plane anyway)....Is it something readily achievable or is it something that has its problems and should be avoided if possible?
    John Mc
    ...........Update..........
    OK...the "shift" key allows a vertical copying in the section view, but doesn't allow a vertical array!....hmmmm
    Last edited by Merlin; 2005-01-19 at 01:46 AM.

  2. #2
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2004-05
    Posts
    792
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Copying, Moving, etc. outside the horizontal Plane

    If you are using the '3D button' then yes you can. If you are in perspective views the answer is no, not very much and with much difficulty.

  3. #3
    Revit Technical Specialist - Autodesk Scott D Davis's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-04
    Location
    Chino, CA
    Posts
    4,756
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Copying, Moving, etc. outside the horizontal Plane

    Sometimes in Revit, it's necessary to move things vertically, by telling Revit where they stop and start. Just like most other objects, Masses know where they are in space relative to the plane they were drawn on. So to move an object vertically, often times you must move the bottom of the mass up, and then move the top by the same amount.

    For instance, draw a simple extrusion mass on level 1. To move it higher, you either have to define a new plane that it was drawn on, or tell Revit to 'offset' it from the plane it was drawn on. In 3D, you can highlight the mass, and then use the handle points to shift the bottom upward, and then use the handle points at the top to shift the top up by the same amount.

    Also, some objects can be moved vertically, but you must uncheck the "constrain" box in the options bar while in the move command.

    HTH!
    Scott D Davis
    Sr AEC Technical Specialist
    Autodesk, Inc.

    http://about.me/scottddavis

  4. #4
    I could stop if I wanted to Merlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-05
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    405
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Copying, Moving, etc. outside the horizontal Plane

    Quote Originally Posted by sjsl
    If you are using the '3D button' then yes you can. If you are in perspective views the answer is no, not very much and with much difficulty.
    Actually, one of the "offending" views I've been trying this in is the 3D (Isometric) view.....That's probably the only view that consistently limits my copying/arraying/moving to horizontal only!

  5. #5
    I could stop if I wanted to Merlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-05
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    405
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Copying, Moving, etc. outside the horizontal Plane

    Quote Originally Posted by Scott Davis

    .........Also, some objects can be moved vertically, but you must uncheck the "constrain" box in the options bar while in the move command.
    OK.....is this similar to toggling the "pin" icon, or is that just for groups?

Similar Threads

  1. Horizontal work plane default for drains and diffusers
    By Wish List System in forum Revit MEP - Wish List
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2012-08-06, 06:09 PM
  2. Horizontal forces on Panels using moving Loads
    By JONATHAN.WARDROP882233 in forum Robot Structural Analysis
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2011-10-18, 12:37 PM
  3. How to make a reference plane always horizontal?
    By smm.144 in forum Revit Structure - Families
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2010-10-08, 07:36 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2005-12-21, 07:54 PM
  5. Mask difference on vertical plane vs. horizontal plane.
    By SkiSouth in forum Revit - Rendering
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2004-04-24, 01:08 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •