See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Is there a way to have a "dummy" section tag??

  1. #1
    Certifiable AUGI Addict tedg's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    in the upper right corner
    Posts
    3,392
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Red face Is there a way to have a "dummy" section tag??

    I've searched all the REVIT forums and couldn't find anything about this. I'm in REVIT Structure, but this is a general REVIT question so I'm asking here.

    When cutting a wall section in a model, it gives you a view, where you name it, detail it and place it on a sheet, and now it has a "home", that's perfect!

    But....I want to put a section marker on other walls that have the same geometry and refer to that same section (so I wouldn't have multiple sections with the exact same information).

    This is more of a company standard thing we would do in AutoCAD, it tells the viewer of the drawing(s) that that wall is built like the other wall etc. So you hard-core REVIT users, please take it easy on me, it's a reasonable request .

    I would like to place a section marker on the plan(s) and have them refer to the same section, is this possible?

    Does anyone have another idea?

    The only other thing I can think of is to either bring one in from AutoCAD as a graphic entity, or figure out a way to make a dumb editable one in REVIT.

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2006-01
    Location
    New Haven, CT
    Posts
    136
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Is there a way to have a "dummy" section tag??

    Ted,

    You can. There is a check box when you are in the section command to "Reference other view". You then can select from a list of views (sections or drafting views). See the attached image.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  3. #3
    Certifiable AUGI Addict tedg's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    in the upper right corner
    Posts
    3,392
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Is there a way to have a "dummy" section tag??

    Quote Originally Posted by vgonzales View Post
    Ted,

    You can. There is a check box when you are in the section command to "Reference other view". You then can select from a list of views (sections or drafting views). See the attached image.
    That is FREAKIN' AWESOME!
    Thanks so much, didn't know that could be done.


  4. #4
    AUGI Addict cdatechguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-10
    Location
    CdA, ID
    Posts
    1,533
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Is there a way to have a "dummy" section tag??

    Works with other callouts too, not just sections.
    Michael "MP" Patrick
    "I only drink :coffee: until it's acceptable to drink :beer: or :whiskey: or :wine:"

  5. #5
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2007-07
    Posts
    382
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Is there a way to have a "dummy" section tag??

    Quote Originally Posted by tedg View Post
    So you hard-core REVIT users, please take it easy on me, it's a reasonable request .
    .
    Hey Ted,
    Many of us here are very accepting

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2012-06-06, 11:54 AM
  2. Repeating Detail Problem - 12"x8"x16" Smooth Face CMU - Section
    By dom.noravong in forum Revit Architecture - Families
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2010-02-08, 02:26 AM
  3. Create a "static" section (detail view) from a "live" section
    By matt__w in forum Revit MEP - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2009-09-22, 04:18 AM
  4. ENTIDADES EN ALIGNMENT COMO "FIXED", "FLOTING" y "FREE"
    By cadia in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-02-01, 04:21 AM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-06-13, 06:36 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •