Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: DWG tracing problem

  1. #1
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2004-05
    Posts
    792
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Unhappy DWG tracing problem

    Trying to trace a dwg underlay for walls. It worked last night but today we can no longer snap to the underlay even when tabbing.

    Any thoughts would be appreciated!

  2. #2
    AUGI Addict aggockel50321's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Waterville, Maine
    Posts
    1,748
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: DWG tracing problem

    One thought.

    Workset job? Check active worksets.

  3. #3
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2004-05
    Posts
    792
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: DWG tracing problem

    Thanks, but no workset is being used.

  4. #4
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2004-05
    Posts
    792
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: DWG tracing problem

    imported the same dwg into another revit session and no problems slecting or snapping to any lines.

  5. #5
    Revit Mararishi aaronrumple's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-02
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    4,695
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: DWG tracing problem

    /Check the obvious first - are snaps on? Settings->Snaps
    Don't drink the Kool-Aid...
    Aaron Rumple, AIA

  6. #6
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2004-01
    Location
    Columbus Ohio
    Posts
    60
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: DWG tracing problem

    Aaron, since you brought up snaps, I have my personal favorites and would like to set them once and be done with it instead of resetting everytime I start up. I've tried templates and for some reason after the 2nd load the template file goes haywire and Revit has reset everything back to default. So far this was the most success I've had (if you can even call that success) This is only one on a list of many things that Revit will allow users to modify 'in session but refuses to remember anything once the session is closed. I've tried everything I can think of and I'm beginning to think there is no hope of customizing thins to my preferences/work habits. Any pointers?

    Thanks

  7. #7
    Revit Mararishi aaronrumple's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-02
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    4,695
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: DWG tracing problem

    Yep. Turn them all on and forget about them. Revit is pertty automatic with snaps unlike AutoCAD. As the help file says - settings are not saved - they apply to all open drawings for only that Revit session.
    Don't drink the Kool-Aid...
    Aaron Rumple, AIA

  8. #8
    I could stop if I wanted to Merlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-05
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    405
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: DWG tracing problem

    OK....I had a similar problem once.....I was trying to trace on an imported .dwg file and couldn't snap...I discovered that I had imported the .dwg file on one level floor plan and I was trying to trace over it while I was in a floor plan that was above the first....just check that first and get back to us

    John Mc

  9. #9
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2004-05
    Posts
    792
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: DWG tracing problem

    yeah, we tried reimporting it as well, still nothing. Did notice an error box saying it could not center the import and would'nt. We used automated settings. We put in manually in the same level and it worked.

    I recall many months ago we had a similar problem when importing and not being able to accept the default centering options. We had to manually do it.

  10. #10
    I could stop if I wanted to Merlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-05
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    405
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: DWG tracing problem

    Quote Originally Posted by sjsl
    ........I recall many months ago we had a similar problem when importing and not being able to accept the default centering options. We had to manually do it.
    I try not to center an imported drawing as that can vary too much, particularly if you import more than one .dwg file. I find it crucial that all .dwg files have a common, 0,0,0 co-ordinate and import automatically using "origin to origin". This also makes for less problems within AutoCAD when using x'refs.

    Still, it doesn't help your original problem....I'm toying around with it now...I'll re-post/message/e-mail/whatever if I come up with anything.

    John Mc
    PS....hold on....now I think about it, I think I recall that I hot-keyed a particular snap (even though they were on) and it accepted that....give that a shot.
    Last edited by Merlin; 2005-01-21 at 06:58 AM.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Tracing a cad drawing
    By cadgiri in forum Revit - Student Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2013-03-13, 03:03 PM
  2. precision of ray-tracing
    By Adam_Ramsay in forum Ecotect Analysis
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2012-09-23, 10:16 AM
  3. Insert PDF for tracing
    By dzatto in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 2010-03-05, 07:18 PM
  4. OLE Object tracing
    By tim.williamson in forum AutoCAD LT - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2004-09-27, 08:07 PM
  5. Auto-pan while tracing
    By Langeles in forum Land Desktop - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2004-09-13, 08:50 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •