Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Civil 3d 2011 and Google Earth Surface

  1. #1
    Member Garfield's Avatar
    Join Date
    2012-01
    Posts
    4
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Civil 3d 2011 and Google Earth Surface

    I am new to creating surfaces in c3d with Google Earth (GE). My coordinates are correctly set (NAD83 Oregon State Planes (Polyconic), North Zone, Intn'l Foot) and my surfaces come out beautiful except for one thing - where the actual survey and google earth may differ by a few feet, c3d is off by more than a hundred. For example: The actual contours range in elevation from 184' to 196'. In panning GE the elevations range from 180' to 200'. In C3d, however, they range from 55' to 61'. What's up with that?

  2. #2
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    2,337
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Civil 3d 2011 and Google Earth Surface

    Quote Originally Posted by toni-l802816 View Post
    I am new to creating surfaces in c3d with Google Earth (GE). My coordinates are correctly set (NAD83 Oregon State Planes (Polyconic), North Zone, Intn'l Foot) and my surfaces come out beautiful except for one thing - where the actual survey and google earth may differ by a few feet, c3d is off by more than a hundred. For example: The actual contours range in elevation from 184' to 196'. In panning GE the elevations range from 180' to 200'. In C3d, however, they range from 55' to 61'. What's up with that?
    So when you run the command:

    Command: _AeccCreateImportGESurface
    DWG Coordinate System: NAD83 Oregon State Planes (Polyconic), South Zone, US
    Foot
    Use coordinate system for surface location or [Identify] <coordinate system>:

    Do you use the Coordinate system?

    Is the drawing in Feet or Meters? As there appears to be a conversion issue happening.

    Notice: 55 * 3.2808399 = 180.446195

    AND 61 * 3.2808399 = 200.131234


    Can I have your data to experiment with?

    I'm happy to have a look at it.

  3. #3
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    2,337
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Civil 3d 2011 and Google Earth Surface

    OK, I just ran a couple of experiments...

    IF you set your drawing settings as shown in the attached the surface will come in correctly

    You my then need to Export the surface to XML

    Set the units back to feet, and reimport to have the data convert from metters to feet correctly.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #4
    Member Garfield's Avatar
    Join Date
    2012-01
    Posts
    4
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Civil 3d 2011 and Google Earth Surface

    Thank you for your help - my drawing was set to meters. Once I changed it to feet my surface appeared correctly.

Similar Threads

  1. 2011: Civil 3D 2011 google earth extension
    By iwassum in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2012-12-24, 07:37 AM
  2. Draping a Google Earth image over a Topo surface
    By tntdraftsol in forum 3ds Max - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2012-12-12, 04:42 PM
  3. Integração Civil 3D com Google Earth
    By leosilveiralima in forum Português - AutoCAD Civil 3D / AutoCAD Land Desktop / AutoCAD Map 3D
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2011-05-05, 02:05 AM
  4. google earth connection - globe link vs google earth extension
    By rpict in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2010-06-21, 03:27 PM
  5. surface data from Google Earth
    By Maverick91 in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - Surfaces
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-08-04, 06:20 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •