Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Ability for dimension and multileader text to be on a specific layer

  1. #1
    Wish List Administration
    Join Date
    2011-08
    Posts
    4,581

    Default Ability for dimension and multileader text to be on a specific layer

    Summary: I would like the ability for dimension and multileader text to be on a specific layer so that it can plot with a different style than the line work without forcing colors.

    Description: Our standard has been to have our dimension and multileader text print slightly heavier than our dimension and leader lines. This works fine when using a .CTB file and forcing the text color. The problem is two fold. If you are using an .STB file there is not a way to have the text print darker aside form using a different font. The other problem occures when using .CTB file and you need to Xref the drawing as a background. If you have forced the color to print correctly in the original drawing then you can't change that color when it is referenced in another drawing. If you could set the text to be bylayer and on a specific layer it would solve both problems.

    Product & Feature: AutoCAD

    Submitted: Thu, 19 Jan 2012

  2. #2
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,570

    Default Re: Ability for dimension and multileader text to be on a specific layer

    Isn't this what tool palette tools are for?
    You create a dimension on the correct layer then use that as a source for further dimensioning.

    [I don't really know because I don't use palettes.]
    John B

    "You can't convince a believer of anything; for their belief is not based on evidence, it's based on a deep-seated need to believe." - Carl Sagan

  3. #3
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    4,852

    Default Re: Ability for dimension and multileader text to be on a specific layer

    Quote Originally Posted by jaberwok View Post
    Isn't this what tool palette tools are for?
    You create a dimension on the correct layer then use that as a source for further dimensioning.

    [I don't really know because I don't use palettes.]
    Not really jaberwok -- a tool palette can force a specified layer for the dimension, but all sub-entities for the dimension land on the same layer, lines, arrowheads, & text. What the request is for is to enable different layers for the different elements - eg. DIMS-ARROW, DIMS-LINE, DIMS-EXT_LINE, DIMS-TEXT. Since it's fairly common (and very traditional) for the dim text to be heavier than the linework, the Acad "all-in-one" system is less than ideal.

    Now, I can assign a color over-ride to the text entity, which helps if using a ctb. Oddly enough, I can assign a Lineweight over-ride to the lines, but not a color (and can't assign a lineweight over-ride to the text. I can't assign _any_ over-ride to the "Symbols and Arrows". I can't assign an Plotstyle to _anything_ - so if one wants to use named plot styles, there's no obvious flexibility with dimension appearances.

    Obviously, all these options conflict with the "best practice" of drawing everything using Bylayer properties. The workaround of using a TrueType font for the Text sub-element is possible, but really it is just not adequate.

    Since Dimension objects are really special block instances, it _ought_ to be possible to enable specifying specific layers on each Dimstyle tab, just more work developing it. In fact, the node sub-entities are already on Defpoints, so it's certainly doable.

    after all, we're not paying these prices because we _want_ kludgy, limited tools.
    Real pirates wear silk suits & ties, and write EULAs
    The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government, is big business.

    Toward a Sustainable Water Future: Visions for 2050 http://ascelibrary.org/doi/book/10.1061/9780784412077

  4. #4
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,570

    Default Re: Ability for dimension and multileader text to be on a specific layer

    Quote Originally Posted by cadtag View Post
    Not really jaberwok -- a tool palette can force a specified layer for the dimension, but all sub-entities for the dimension land on the same layer, lines, arrowheads, & text. What the request is for is to enable different layers for the different elements - eg. DIMS-ARROW, DIMS-LINE, DIMS-EXT_LINE, DIMS-TEXT. Since it's fairly common (and very traditional) for the dim text to be heavier than the linework, the Acad "all-in-one" system is less than ideal.

    Now, I can assign a color over-ride to the text entity, which helps if using a ctb. Oddly enough, I can assign a Lineweight over-ride to the lines, but not a color (and can't assign a lineweight over-ride to the text. I can't assign _any_ over-ride to the "Symbols and Arrows". I can't assign an Plotstyle to _anything_ - so if one wants to use named plot styles, there's no obvious flexibility with dimension appearances.

    Obviously, all these options conflict with the "best practice" of drawing everything using Bylayer properties. The workaround of using a TrueType font for the Text sub-element is possible, but really it is just not adequate.

    Since Dimension objects are really special block instances, it _ought_ to be possible to enable specifying specific layers on each Dimstyle tab, just more work developing it. In fact, the node sub-entities are already on Defpoints, so it's certainly doable.

    after all, we're not paying these prices because we _want_ kludgy, limited tools.
    Ah, right.
    A good argument for sticking with ctb then . I control text colour (for weight) and have everything else bylayer. Hmm - just like the OP.
    John B

    "You can't convince a believer of anything; for their belief is not based on evidence, it's based on a deep-seated need to believe." - Carl Sagan

Similar Threads

  1. Ability to Assign Layer to Dimension and QLEADER
    By autocad.wishlist1734 in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2015-10-12, 03:55 PM
  2. Ability for dimension and multileader text to be on a specific layer
    By Wish List System in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2012-01-19, 06:06 PM
  3. Dimension, multileader and text style editor
    By autocad.wishlist1734 in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2010-03-25, 12:59 AM
  4. Dim Text on Specific Layer instead of having Specific Color
    By Masroor Javid in forum ACA Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2009-02-23, 09:34 AM
  5. Ability to associated a text style with a layer
    By autocad.wishlist1734 in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2007-06-21, 04:44 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •