Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Opening Autocad 2012

  1. #1
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2012-06
    Posts
    1
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Opening Autocad 2012

    Each time I start Autocad 2012 it says "first use initialising". If I close Autocad without turning off the computer it starts normally but not if I turn the computer off and back on again.

  2. #2
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2006-04
    Location
    (getpoint "Anywhere on the Enter Key =>")
    Posts
    1,160
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Opening Autocad 2012

    Try to set system variable
    Startup=0

  3. #3
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    4,766
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Opening Autocad 2012

    it sounds like there's something in your windows startup /boot process that is resetting the registry to a previous state, or re-writing your local user profile information. Or possibly on shutdown something is running that edits the registry or user account info.

    Are you on a domain? is your IT group doing something with the login scripts? are Group Policies being used by IT?
    Real pirates wear silk suits & ties, and write EULAs
    The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government, is big business.

    Toward a Sustainable Water Future: Visions for 2050 http://ascelibrary.org/doi/book/10.1061/9780784412077

  4. #4
    AUGI Addict jpaulsen's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-04
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    2,015
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Opening Autocad 2012

    Isn't that normal?

    I see the same behavior with 2012. I also noticed it takes longer to open the first time after a computer restart.
    Jeff Paulsen

  5. #5
    Active Member wolfgrrlone's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Posts
    54
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Opening Autocad 2012

    This is a local user vs. admin user issue. I have pestered my IT guys about it, but since we have local user rights and not admin rights, we are stuck with the "frist run" dialog each time we reboot.
    ACAD Mech 2012, Win 7 64 bit

  6. #6
    Certifiable AUGI Addict ccowgill's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-08
    Location
    Hartford, Michigan
    Posts
    3,194
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Opening Autocad 2012

    My splash screen always displays this on first run after a reboot. It is default behavior programed that way. Its just telling you that it is the first run of the day.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2013-06-12, 04:34 PM
  2. 2012: AutoCAD 2012 / 2013 Opening Slowly
    By rgreen.184947 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2012-10-26, 12:50 PM
  3. 2012: Problems in autocad 2012 when opening files from autocad 2011 saved as 2000
    By debora.fernandes in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 2012-06-30, 02:12 PM
  4. 2012: Error when opening RAC 2012
    By Clyne Curtis in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2011-08-25, 03:14 PM
  5. AUTOCAD LT 2012 CRASHING WHISLT SAVING/OPENING DWG'S AND PLOTTING PDF'S
    By GARION864363 in forum AutoCAD LT - General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2011-04-26, 01:18 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •