Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Using "field" attribute in a title block - blanking out to 4 dashes

  1. #1
    Active Member wolfgrrlone's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Posts
    54
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Using "field" attribute in a title block - blanking out to 4 dashes

    I've got a field attribute in a titleblock. I took the "createddate" field and stripped out the text for month and day, so that the field just contains the year. I've used this for the copyright info area on our TB. Works fine when I'm in the TB dwg.

    When I insert this as a block OR by using Layout->Title Border, the year blanks out to 4 dashes, and I don't know why. I'd like this to be a field so that it auto-updates and we don't have to change the block every year.

    Any help you could provide would be greatly appreciated! Thank you!

  2. #2
    Active Member wolfgrrlone's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Posts
    54
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Using "field" attribute in a title block - blanking out to 4 dashes

    I got it to work by using an ATTDEF and setting the field within that.

  3. #3
    Administrator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,713
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Using "field" attribute in a title block - blanking out to 4 dashes

    I'm not sure what the problem is exactly... I too use a field for this purpose in our title block:

    augi_field.date.year.png

    This is saved as my default value for the attribute definition, within the title block that is inserted into each new plan sheet.
    "How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

    Computer Specs:
    Dell Precision 3660, Core i9-12900K 5.2GHz, 64GB DDR5 RAM, PCIe 4.0 M.2 SSD (RAID 0), 16GB NVIDIA RTX A4000

  4. #4
    Active Member wolfgrrlone's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Posts
    54
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Using "field" attribute in a title block - blanking out to 4 dashes

    I was using the code pasted into a text field. Once I switched it to an attdef, it worked fine. Thanks for the response!

  5. #5
    Administrator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,713
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Using "field" attribute in a title block - blanking out to 4 dashes

    You're welcome.
    "How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

    Computer Specs:
    Dell Precision 3660, Core i9-12900K 5.2GHz, 64GB DDR5 RAM, PCIe 4.0 M.2 SSD (RAID 0), 16GB NVIDIA RTX A4000

Similar Threads

  1. Dynamic Block "field" text moved
    By Omoth in forum Dynamic Blocks - Technical
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 2017-11-03, 01:15 AM
  2. Update "Prompt" tab in an existing Block Attribute.
    By joelnishan605002 in forum ARX
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2014-03-24, 09:04 PM
  3. 2012: "load into project" after creating custom title block
    By tterbb819318 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2011-09-30, 11:25 AM
  4. Title Block Line "Auto-connects"
    By Batman in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2008-10-13, 01:08 PM
  5. Cannot change "Title" Description on Title Block!
    By Cosmic Traveller in forum Inventor - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2005-11-30, 05:39 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •