Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Assigning Layer States to Viewports

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2011-05
    Posts
    33
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Assigning Layer States to Viewports

    Hi all -

    I have looked high and low for a solution to this, and found a dearth of information on the subject. However, everything is conflicting and it doesn't seem like there is a good solution. I'm hoping ACA 2012 has a simple function that will solve this issue... and it boggles my mind that it doesn't seem to be a feature.

    Each file I have has a set of layer states. Each file has a couple of layouts - a proper architectural drawing and then a presentation plan. There's a "Print" and "Presentation" layer state, then, in each file.

    My question is: How can I assign the layer state to the viewport? I use the sheet set manager to navigate/print and I need to be able to output both the presentation and print drawings in one shot... but if I'm working in model space and have my "Working" layer state turned on, it changes in both my viewports, and the prints end up being a big mess. This is really a basic function, fundamental to how architects work, and it's surprising that it's not a simple parameter in the properties of the viewport, like scale or plot style table.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator dkoch's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-03
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    2,386
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Assigning Layer States to Viewports

    I have not played around with layer States recently. I understand they can be useful for quickly switching between various collections of layer properties so that you see the right things on the model "tab". For layouts, I use the viewport layer features with VISRETAIN set to 1 if there are external references. That way, I can simply make certain all layers are globally on and thawed and let the viewport (and the current Display Configuration) control what is seen in each viewport.

    The VPLAYER command is the old-school way of freezing and thawing layers on a viewport basis; you can do that in the Layer Manager palette in more recent versions. More recent versionsnalso allow for overriding other layer attributes on a per viewport basis, if desired.
    Last edited by dkoch; 2012-07-12 at 09:58 PM. Reason: typo
    David Koch

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2011-05
    Posts
    33
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Assigning Layer States to Viewports

    the problem is that if I'm working in model space and save the file, there's nothing keeping the viewport layer settings locked. In your example, you have to make sure every layer is turned on in model space for the viewport to display properly. When I batch plot, I'll have no idea if *all* of the files have been saved with all of the layers turned on and unlocked. So it poses a bit of a problem - if I knew how to make a macro to revert to "ALL ON Layer State activated" upon close and "WORKING Layer State Activated" upon open, I would do that... but I don't have a clue how that works. If there is an easy way to do it (like a macro in excel or a photoshop action that records mouse clicks), I would love to know! Otherwise it sounds like there isn't really a solution.

    This is a fundamental part of any architect's working process and it would be a simple enough fix to create a parameter for a viewport that sets its layer state, the same way one can set a scale or plot style table... right? I have seen people complaining about it lacking in Autocad all the way back to 2004/2006, and it's amazing that it has never been addressed.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator dkoch's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-03
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    2,386
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Assigning Layer States to Viewports

    You are correct, the viewport settings can only prevent unwanted layers from showing, not assure that wanted layers are showing. My office generally has a separate file for each sheet, so the is rarely a reason for layers that are meant to be seen in the layout are globally frozen or off. Not that somebody could not do so, which is why I have never been a big fan of batch plotting. That can save a lot of time, especially on larger projects with many sheets, but only if you entire team has the discipline to leave all sheet file in a plot-ready state when saving/closing. My experience has been that that sort of discipline does not occur naturally in an architectural firm.
    David Koch

Similar Threads

  1. 2011: Layer states in viewports
    By andy.239668 in forum ACA General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2010-08-30, 07:57 PM
  2. Viewports and Layer States?
    By richard.kessinger.wc3 in forum AutoCAD Customization
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2010-01-25, 06:50 PM
  3. Viewports Layer States
    By Mike Y in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2009-01-31, 02:59 PM
  4. Layer states and viewports
    By autocad.wishlist1734 in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2005-12-07, 12:07 PM
  5. Layer states and clipping viewports
    By autocad.wishlist1734 in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2005-10-05, 12:30 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •