Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Dimensions not telling the truth

  1. #1
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2005-12
    Posts
    566
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Dimensions not telling the truth

    Here's an interesting example of a dimension getting it's information from a family.FunnyDimensions.jpg

  2. #2
    AUGI Addict DaveP's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-12
    Location
    St Paul, MN
    Posts
    1,568
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Dimensions not telling the truth

    I'd guess your Dimension Style is rounding to the nearest inch
    Go back to AutoCAD? I'd rather lose my right arm!

  3. #3
    AUGI Addict jsteinhauer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-11
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    1,317
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Dimensions not telling the truth

    'When I am working on a problem, I never think about beauty but when I have finished, if the solution is not beautiful, I know it is wrong.' - R. Buckminster Fuller

  4. #4
    AUGI Addict MikeJarosz's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-10
    Location
    New York NY
    Posts
    1,497
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Dimensions not telling the truth

    It's also a good idea to have as few snaps as possible turned on. It amazes me how many users have all their snaps on, then wonder why the point they selected doesn't look right. In dense areas of a drawing, I very often turn all snaps off and use explicit snaps SM, SE, SC etc.
    "everything you know is wrong...." -FST

  5. #5
    100 Club vgonzales's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-01
    Location
    New Haven, CT
    Posts
    136
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Dimensions not telling the truth

    Change your Units tolerance to the smallest unit 1/256". Manage Tab > Project Units.
    Regards,
    Leo
    Virgilio Gonzales, AIA

    "Don't draw it. Build it!"
    HP Elite Book 850 G1, Win 7 Pro x64 SP1, Intel Core i7-4600 2.10 Ghz, 16 GB RAM, Revit 2014 UR2

  6. #6
    AUGI Addict jsteinhauer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-11
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    1,317
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Dimensions not telling the truth

    Quote Originally Posted by vgonzales View Post
    Change your Units tolerance to the smallest unit 1/256". Manage Tab > Project Units.
    Or use the hot key command of 'UN' to bring up the project units.

    Quote Originally Posted by MikeJarosz
    It amazes me how many users have all their snaps on
    How do you control your snaps in Revit? Only time I get the option to select a snap is when I'm drafting or modeling an element, never with dimensions.

    Cheers,
    Jeff S.
    'When I am working on a problem, I never think about beauty but when I have finished, if the solution is not beautiful, I know it is wrong.' - R. Buckminster Fuller

  7. #7
    AUGI Addict MikeJarosz's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-10
    Location
    New York NY
    Posts
    1,497
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Dimensions not telling the truth

    under the manage tab, there is a horseshoe magnet icon "snaps"



    Snaps.JPG
    "everything you know is wrong...." -FST

  8. #8
    AUGI Addict jsteinhauer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-11
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    1,317
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Dimensions not telling the truth

    O-SNAP!!! Well I'll be dipped...
    I guess it was never an issue for me before, but wait I can apply 3" as a length snap. And the peasants rejoice!!!
    There is even the shortcut commands for the snaps as well. Yay^2

    Thanks Mike

    Jeff S.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    'When I am working on a problem, I never think about beauty but when I have finished, if the solution is not beautiful, I know it is wrong.' - R. Buckminster Fuller

  9. #9
    AUGI Addict DaveP's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-12
    Location
    St Paul, MN
    Posts
    1,568
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Dimensions not telling the truth

    The "Length dimension snap increment" is the one that specifies how much it "jumps" when you are, for instance, creating a Wall.
    The further you are Zoomed Out, the more to the left of those options it goes.
    So when you're Zoomed way out, it goes by 4' increments. As you Zoom In, it changes first to 6", then 1", then 1/4" when you're way in.
    We've got ours set to 4'-0", 1'-0", 0'-4", 0'-1", 0'-1/4"
    The 4" help with Masonry units. Happens much more often than 6"
    Also, this is unique to a project, not a user, so you'll want to set your defaults in your Template.
    Go back to AutoCAD? I'd rather lose my right arm!

  10. #10
    AUGI Addict jsteinhauer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-11
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    1,317
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Dimensions not telling the truth

    Why would these settings be project specific & not user specific? I could see it being like the project browser organization, that at first is project, but each user can change it to whatever they want.

    Cheers,
    Jeff S.
    'When I am working on a problem, I never think about beauty but when I have finished, if the solution is not beautiful, I know it is wrong.' - R. Buckminster Fuller

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. CV118-5: Telling the Floodplain Truth With AutoCAD Civil 3D
    By Autodesk University in forum Civil Infrastructure
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2017-10-05, 03:34 PM
  2. The Truth About Lisp
    By irneb in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2010-03-28, 03:09 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •